Believing is not enough.

mountaineering-455338_1920.jpg
Image source

There is nothing worthy in this life. I just wish I can die right on this spot.

It has been more than twenty years now that I have been waking up every morning doing what my mother told me.

Right now, I regret having a parent or even knowing them because this would not have happened if I did not know them at all. I would have taken life the way it is suppose to be but I did not want to disobey my parent because I want to be a good child to them so that my days may be long and I will be blessed on earth.

Twenty years earlier.

John, I know you are no longer a kid and you can reason very well even though you are not an adult yet so I felt this will be the best time to tell you about yourself.

Mom, what do you mean by telling me about myself. I know myself already and I am sure, you know I can even write a composition about myself.

No, that's not what I meant. There are certain things that you did not know about yourself which I am going to tell you this night.

You see, I fell in love with your father while we were an undergraduate.

Wait, do you mean I had a father!!! John exclaimed.

Yes, there is no way I can give birth to you without having a father because I cannot impregnate myself.

Do you still remember your date of birth?

Yes, mom. I still remember. You told me it was 18th of June and that is today.

You are correct. That was also the date your dad died. Your dad died on a fatal motor accident the same date I gave birth to you and since they you have been my companion. I could not withhold it when it happened and I have taken it upon myself to give you the best thing among the best.

With tears in her eyes, John's mom took a deep breathe and said, John whatever you are doing, always belieeevveee.

She could not utter the next word before she gave up a ghost.

Another 18th of June is here so today marked 21years that I lost my mom and 28years that I lost my dad.

Today is not a birth date for me but the date that I lost my parent within short interval.

Ever since I lost my mom, life has become so unbearable for me. You can not even imagine what life is when you don't have anyone to look for you.

From all the tales that mom has told me, she told me one day that I was not actually from here but my dad relocated to this place after they got married. She did not tell me where I am from precisely so I have no idea and since we have no family here, I had no choice than to be strong for myself.

I have been doing that but this is more than I could think of. Even the girl that I believe will be my wife just did her wedding few months ago.

  • Does that mean my mom lied to me that I should I believe?

  • Or what did she have to say after that word.

I just wish I could know what she wanted to say maybe life would have been better than this for me.

I have no ideal of what she wanted to say but I know I am suppose to.

There is no reason to think about it but I still believe.

I stood up from where I was sitting and head to no where, I could not say precisely this is where I am going but I know I was on a very lonely road until I heard someone screamed.

Don't blame me, I was deep in thought trying to give an answer to what mum told me years ago.

I thought it was thief only for me to realize that I was so close to a car that could have hit me.

Maybe I would have died the same date with my parent but thank God, I as still breathing but more than I thought, I got another gift same date.

Stepping out of the car was a fair, average and good looking lady of my age. I could not even open my mouth to say anything, I was captivated by her appearance and I felt something which is in contrary to what I have felt all my life.

Is this what you call love at first sight?

No, it cannot be.

The voice of the lady brought me back to reality and she was so concerned about my health. She asked me to enter the car and we drove to a nearby hospital where I was asked to do a medical check up.

The whole scenario was still fresh in my brain and after all procedures has been done.

I was lying down on the bed when she came in again but this time, in lab coat and stethoscope around her neck.

She asked me what I was thinking and without restricting her, I told her how life has been ever since I lost my parent. I told how I have always believe the word of my mom but nothing better has ever happened to me.

Your mom told you the right thing but you gave it another meaning. Priscilla said.

What do you mean? I asked with confusion written all over my face.

Your mom actually mean you should believe in yourself but believing in yourself is not enough, you must take action.

Unless you take action, you will never get anything from this world. Priscilla concluded looking at me directly in the eye.

That was what I have been pondering over for more than twenty years. How naive I was.

To start with, I told her how I felt that moment when I saw. Priscilla rested her back on the chair and look at me with surprise.

I want you to be by my side forever. You are the light to my path and I will not want to lose that light as I journey on life from now henceforth.

As I said those words, I did not know if I am doing the right thing or not but I believed and I was taking action.

family-6398107_1920.jpg
Image source

Another 7 years has passed and here I am celebrating 5years anniversary with the one that light my path with our children.

Thank you for reading till this end. From the story, how old was John when his mother died?

Till I cross your path again, I am like a ready made pen in the hand of the creator. I am
A²¹

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency