Introducing the Train Spotting Community for train lovers

A couple of days ago I mentioned I created a new community called Train Spotting. I have written about trains from various different angles in the past, the train itself, train journeys, hikes and walks along railway tracks, stations, depots and museums etc. I've also seen quite a few others write and post about trains. However, I couldn't find any train related communities on Hive.
20211103_103235.jpg

For some people, trains are part of their daily commute journey. For others it's their working life. Some people rely on trains as a connection with friends and families far away, and for some it's a way of traveling around countries or even across the world. And finally, I know there are many train fanatics who loves trains just because they are trains.

The Train Spotting Community is for every one of you.


What can you post in the Train Spotting Community?

It's pretty simple really, anything that's related to trains. With the definition of train being any vehicle that runs on a track, so that could be a train to carry people or goods, it could be overground or underground, so trams and subways are ok.
image.png


Let me give you a some examples of what you can write about...

Trains (of course) - old and new
DSC_0149.JPG

image.png

Hikes and tracks I hiked along a railway track in Taiwan some years ago, it was a stunning hike
DSC_2085.JPG

Train adventure - me catching the train to start my Machu Picchu trek in Peru
image.png

Depot - a unique fan shape depot in Taiwan
image.png

History - this section of disused railway track in UK that used to be vital for trade, the area has now been redeveloped
PSX_20200718_005235.jpg

Signal systems - found on the same section of the disused railway

DSC_4365.JPG

Museums - a great way to learn about trains, this one is in Japan
image.png

Bridges - this is Glennfinan Viaduct the famous Harry Potter bridge in Scotland
DSC_1263.JPG

Local railway stations - everything station is different and their own story
image.png

Architecture - they come in all shapes and sizes and styles
image.png

These are just some examples of train related content based on my own personal image archive, but the list is endless. As long as it's related to trains in some way, that's fine. Be creative.


Community rules

All community have their own rules, and this one is no exception, but I don't want to over do them. The Train Spotting community rules are pretty simple

  • Any content that is related to train is permitted. A train is defined as a vehicle that runs on a track to carry people or goods
  • Original content only, no recycling or plagiarism
  • Abuse will not be tolerated and will be dealt with accordingly
  • Content can be written in any language but must include English
  • Engagement with fellow Train Spotter posts in the community is encouraged

Why should I post in the Train Spotting Community?

Good question. Let me give you a few reasons.

  1. There is no other community on Hive focused on trains. The Train Spotting Community is the best place to meet other train spotters, to share and consume train related content
  2. You get to see and learn more about trains from around the world
  3. It gives curators another place to find good quality content to curate as I will be moderating the community myself (for those who don't know me I curate for @pinmapple and @ocd)
  4. I will organise community contest with the aim of getting as much support to reward entries as possible

Hopefully these are good enough reasons for your to hop on board!! You can subscribe to the community here created/hive-170068

Thanks
@livinguktaiwan

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
58 Comments
Ecency