My Custom made Bass, a special story

@Boss, here's the story about my Custom bass :)

As you might know some musicians have names for their instrument, like BB King, for instance, names his guitar "Lucille"

I don't have an name for my Bass guitar but it sure feels like family. The story behind it is one which I would not quickly forget and I would love to share with you all.

It was about 20 years ago, at least, when I met Huub Boel. Huub started a guitar shop in our hometown Zutphen. First he sold mostly second hand guitars and doing repairs on guitars for his customers. At that time I played a lot of acoustic guitar and often went to his shop for strings and things. Huub and I had a click and often for a 5 minute visit to buy strings I would stay for hours talking about guitars, music, life.. All kinds of stuff. So we got along great. The shop of Huub was growing rappidly so that was a great thing. All local musicians bought stuff at Huub's shop because he also was one of the few guitar shops in a wide range.

image.png
Huub in his own shop

While the shop was expanding Huub and I where discussing going online, he didn't had a webshop then. So I offered him to build him a website, at that time it was a hobby of mine so I thought it would be fun to do and I loves doing something in return for Huub. It took me some time cause I really wanted it to be a great website for the customers of Huub. But finally it was finished and Huub was happy with the result. In the meantime I switched from guitar to bass guitar but still was often at Huub shop to have a chat, look at some of his own projects (guitars) and getting some updates to put on his website. It was around the same time I I noticed that Huub was too kind for some of the musicians I knew, they took advantage of his kindness and I was really annoyed about that. How can people take advantage of somebody that does everything for them for no money.... I just can't understand that.

Huub started with his own guitar line, building some great instruments. He was becomming a local hero, and for real when he starting to endorse one of Zutphen's greatest musicians (and now a big hot shot producer) Gordon Groothedde.


image.png

They build a great instrument together which was well received in dutch muscian land. So things were going well for Huub. In the meantime I was busy (well not really busy, it was fun to do) with his website. One day Huub called me to ask if I was at home that night, he had some things for the website. So, I thought nothing about it and said that I indeed was at home. So that night Huub dropped by, with a big gig-bag and he asked me to open it. So I did, and when I openend it I was speechless.... In the gig-bag there was the most beautiful bass guitar I ever seen. I did said to Huub you want a picture of this one for the website? (because Huub never ever did build a bass), and Huub said "No, this bass is for you, I build it for you because you have helped me a lot". First I didn't believed it, cause this instrument was such a beautiful instrument and I couldn't imagine Huub giving it to me.

Things were falling together


Still recovering from what just happened Huub was explaining why he build the bass. He was grateful for the things i did for him and wanted to suprise me with my own 'signature' bass. Huub never builded a bass guitar before and I got his very first one especially build for me... I was flabbergasted (is that english?). I didn't knew what to say.

In the neck there was an inlay just like John Myung of Dreamtheater always had in his Yamaha basses, and I suddenly remembered how Huub knew I loved that inlay. Huub had asked me months before If I would build a bass, what kind of bass it would be. I then told him that it would be a Jazz model , 5 string with the inlay of John Myung's signature Yamaha, just like on the picture.

image.png

So Huub was asking that because he'd already knew he was going to build a bass for me and he wanted it to be just the bass I'd always wanted.... I was really touched by his generousity. Of course I plugged the bass imediatly into my amp to try it, and it's sound was brilliant. The bass playes like a charm, it is an heavy instrument just like a bass should be... I have never felt so happy and uncomfortable at the same time. Happy because this was something I always wanted, a great instrument. And uncomfortable because I thought it was way to generous.. But Huub insisted that I accept the bass as token of his appreciation...

In the meantime I played a lot of gigs with this bass and I still cherrish it like it's my child.. It is an great instrument and I am Huub still thankfull that he has build this great instrument especially for me...

So now a few pictures of my own 'Lucille' , I am currious what you think of it's looks ;)

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

I'll bet it makes sense why I love this instrument so much. Just the story alone makes it one of the most valuable instruments I will ever own.

Have a great day and I hope you enjoyed this story..... I did for sure :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency