Automatic voting on Hive

Yet another script for voting on Hive using python beem. I know there may be many similar scripts out there and there are some web applications that facilitate this task but I wanted to learn to use the Hive API from python and I wanted to use something I can trust and doesn't require me to give away my private keys to a third party. I went to the documentation and the beem documentation and source code to make this script. I have kind of abandoned my hive account but I'd like it to keep supporting the bloggers I want to support and get some curation rewards passively.

Besides from hard coding rules to make votes sporadically, this is quite simple and is based on a script in the python tutorials in the documentation. I found that beem has lots of useful functions to get curation rewards estimations, votes, time since publication, etc. You should definitely look at the source code besides the documentation because there are many functionalities that are not explained in the current docs.

Go ahead and look at the source code here: https://github.com/Guitlle/hive-blockchain/blob/master/automatizacion/autovoto.py Beware that this is a very raw initial version without much fancy architecture put in place. I just needed it to read a list of accounts, get the last post from each of the accounts, check whether I already voted on each post and if not then vote. Votes should not be done before 5 minutes or after 2 days of the post creation and it can only vote if no vote has been made in the last 30 minutes.

If you want to use it, checkout the README to see how to set it up. It is quite easy and straight forward but you are going to want a linux OS with crontab to automate it without any effort and to intall beem with a simple python environment and pip. Check out the code below and let me know what you think.

image.png

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency