Huge swell, thinking time and our lockdown coffee story! #54

EB81A92D-4EC3-413D-A0E5-92A70929E2BC.jpeg

BUT FIRST The Driving update

Ok this week has been slightly eventful in that the driving lessons that kicked off last weekend are now bearing a little fruit. Taylor managed to drive ON THE ACTUAL STREETS THROUGH OUR NEIGHBOURHOOD this week on her 4th lesson. Just so you know my shoulders are even more tense and probably in need of a physio at this point and I may have yelled at her today when she basically jumped a stop street. I’ve been pretty calm and collected up until this point.

6F547EFE-04B0-4E28-BB9B-79382B5E4C36.jpeg

Huge Swell

I managed to get a walk in on our local beach called Long Beach and I was greeted with huge shore breakers that I thought would make your day. I only had my mobile with me so these will have to do. But the video gives a better idea of how hard they were dumping.


Sound on!

26702317-E24C-445F-A7B4-DEAAA3815F68.jpeg

Thinking Time

Walking the beach always clears out the clutter in my head as I get time to ponder and think and mull things over. Do you ever just need space? This is my wide open space where I seldom bump into anyone I know. So it’s just me walking, taking in the sights and thinking.

6EA64300-8DE1-4CE1-945C-DCB88186274F.jpeg
I don’t know where these little guys come from but I’ve never seen them washed up here before.

I won’t go into details but we have encountered a little extended family conflict that we are trying to address. What it comes down to is a different family culture and different standards of acceptable behaviour. So it’s been a teaching moment for us and our teens. This stuff is never easy and we’re hoping that taking the high ground will be a good example for our kids to see and follow.

Now I just need a coffee. It’s late, so maybe a decaf!

F3B3DE47-CDEE-4C8B-8AEF-75F902317B1C.jpeg

My Drink!!!! And our lockdown coffee story...

Gosh I can always have a good coffee. Hopefully a barista-made double latte with a decent micro-foam. I haven’t quite got the barista story organised at home but my electric milk frother and Nespresso never let me down.

It’s actually quite a story. In South Africa we have a coffee franchise called Seattle Coffee co. And the owners of the Seattle brand happened to live in our old hood in Hout Bay. This meant that when my kids were in Primary School we got to do a tour of the roasting factory as a school outing. I absolutely offered to chaperone. Their coffee is BRILLIANT!!! Never bitter, never burnt. Always rich and naturally sweet (I don’t take sugar) and I am never disappointed.

But during the first big lockdown Seattle became a dream that was no longer attainable. All stores closed. No takeouts. All I could think of was that frothy latte and I cannot stand the thought of instant coffee. I’d much rather have a good tea if that’s the case.

I happened to mention this lack of lattes on our local neighbourhood group as folks had all been chatting about what they were missing or needed. Next thing I got a DM from a neighbour a couple blocks away that he had an extra Nespresso machine AND pods waiting for me to collect!!!! Whaaaaaat???!! People are so kind!! I was so blown away and thanked the Lord for answering my silly prayers.

Even better we got our awesome Milk Frother for a very good price from our local store and there you have it folks!!!! Lattes for days and days and days.

We eventually got our own Nespresso Machine and now have our daily coffees in the comfort of our own home. First thing in the morning - ALWAYS TEA! But after my workout mid morning - CAN’T GO WITHOUT MY COFFEE!

Ok we’ve covered a whole lot this time so I hope you’re all caught up with the happenings in the Donald household.

Life isn’t always easy, but we are blessed.

PS. I am quite chuffed with my nickname @galenkp

50486324-41B6-473B-849F-2C906595D489.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency