This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

My love-hate relationship with Sundays - Weekend-Engagement: WEEK 135

A photo of me at the front of the church

As Sunday evening rolls around, I can't help but feel a sense of dread wash over me. The weekend is almost over, which means that the work week is just around the corner.

For most people, Sunday is a day of relaxation and winding down before the start of a new week. But for me, it's a constant reminder that Monday is just a few short hours away.

text

Since I was a child, I have always had this relationship with most Sundays. Usually, on Sundays, we leave for church early and return home about midday or, more frequently, in the afternoon. Because we occasionally skip meals before going to church, we frequently feel hungry and exhausted after the service.

Because of this, as soon as we arrive home, everyone starts thinking about what to eat, which can be extremely unpleasant, especially if there isn't any food on hand or you didn't make any plans for what to prepare before going to church. The main reason for this is that few shops and businesses operate on Sunday, and even those that do only do so in the late afternoon or evening.

After eating and relaxing, my thoughts naturally turn to Monday preparation. When I was younger, I had to make sure my school uniforms were clean and ready. I also had to check to see if I had finished all of my schoolwork and finished any tasks that were still outstanding by Sunday night if I didn't want to face the teacher's wrath the following day.

text

I'm not a child anymore, though. So how do I feel about Sundays now?

Sundays and I currently have a bittersweet relationship. In comparison to earlier, I now appreciate Sundays as the final day of the weekend more. Sundays are also calmer since, aside from church-related events, there aren't as many things going on as there are on Saturday and Friday nights. When I'm in the university dorm, it's also often peaceful there and in my neighborhood too.

As a college student, I often do my laundry on Saturdays, so Sundays are the ideal time for me to review what I studied the week before. However, the knowledge that a new work week is about to begin still makes me dislike Sundays, especially when I have a full schedule of academic obligations on Mondays. On the other hand, if Monday has fewer or no classes, I will even appreciate my Sunday more.

Even though I haven't begun working yet, I am confident that once I do, I will value my weekends even more. But I'm certain that my love-hate feeling for Sunday will continue to persist.

text

Thanks for reading!