Solitude - My Sanity

Date: __th November, 202@ - Saturday.

There's a tiny cottage in the woods - not too deep into the woods but still far away from the city. It gets chilly in the winter but the homely feeling of the tiny cottage makes up for the warmth that was lacking.

This is exactly what I was expecting. I came over here last night, out on a whim, I just needed to get away from my stressful colorless life - I couldn't even say it was a life and much more of a chore. When Buddy told me about the cottage in the woods, I just hopped in my car and drove off to the sunset (dramatic).

I'm not going to say that enjoy the silence, but somehow, silence has become a part of me that keeps me sane. I wish I was good with words and I could explain the surroundings; the smell of the fog mixed with forest, damp soil, and sunlight - I'm lacking in words. But I know, I can take a lung full of air and be content with just keeping my eyes closed. I took a walk around close to the cabin but not too far - just glancing through but there's no sign of another human. Only a few rabbits, stray dogs, and birds keep me company.

I don't know about the fascination with birds chirping by the window and no, I don't hate birds. There are birds here too. I can hear the crows cawing at a distance and one or two other birds that are tweeting but I don't pay any mind. I made some hot chocolate for myself and dragged a rocking chair on the porch - that's all I need for now. Hours went by and I realized that I hadn't checked my phone since I got here, but I didn't really want to do that. I was aware, the moment I pick that blasted piece of technology in my hand, I know I'll be done for. Let me enjoy this peace and quiet for now - I told myself.

Have you ever got so lost in your surroundings that you forgot the time? The sun was setting and that told me, the day had passed and I did nothing but sit in that chair and breathe. I slowly got up from the chair and dragged it back to the cottage. Even though I didn't want to get my phone, it has some things that can be temporary entertainment - such as songs and movies (stupid, I know). And my stomach grumbled so loudly that it probably notified all the living things nearby, there was a hungry, half-grumpy human around. The ramen in the cupboard was calling to me and I didn't mind one bit. A movie and ramen - although I could do that in my apartment in the city but it felt different here.


Date: __th November, 202@ - Sunday.

No good morning. It was already past afternoon when I woke up and then I just stayed in bed for a while. I'm not in any rush, although in a few hours I got to get back. But it's okay - I can come back again. And with that in mind, I left the bed and made breakfast for myself along with a steaming hot cuppa coffee. It was rather sunny outside, and the familiar scent and a walk on the trail behind the cottage seemed like a great idea but decided not to stray too far.

It wasn't the beauty that caught my attention, it was the peace, the quiet, the overall solitude that I needed so much that pulled me and I was sure, it won't be the last time I came here. And after much cajoling, I packed up, ready to leave - looking over my shoulder one last time for the sake of my sanity, I got in the car.

For solitude never has been a curse but often a necessity to me.


I chose the topic Weekend of solitude and even though I haven't done what I have mentioned, my weekend of solitude seems exactly like this - preferably longer than just a weekend.

Image Source


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency