WITHOUT. A Word That Has More Of A Negative Resonance For Me.

In and of itself the word 'WITHOUT', could be taken as a positive just as easily as a negative.

However the second I see it, ponder it, become affected by it, loss, lack and melancholy are conjured in my (over-active) minds eye.

Who would I be, what would I do, without my family?
How would I find a life without music?
without love, how would I survive?
How was I affected as I became used to life without my Nana when she died?

I realise of course that I could equally have said:

Imagine a world without war, disease and suffering.
without poverty, how limitless could mankind become?

There are a myriad of other options on this side of the argument but like I say, the word without simply conjures up scarcity and lack for me, I guess I'm just weird that way...

one_question.png

I am currently in a spell that sees me, largely experiencing life without writing, which has become somewhat of an emotional crutch and vital outlet for me over the last few years. Catharsis, connection, fun, fulfilment and a chance to use my voice and air the views that are important to me, have been chief among the myriad of almost immeasurable benefits for I have experienced.

If you know me, have stumbled across my musings and insane ramblings before today, you will know I am not going to be winning any literary awards anytime soon but that I do explore those things I deem worthy to the fullest, no stone is left unturned, no metaphor left unused and no cliché avoided, (no matter how many times I say I will avoid that particular trap!).

You could indeed say I would feel a deep sense of sadness and I don't think loss, is too strong a word, if my Hive were taken away from me, of course, I mean my blog and ability to connect with the plethora of downright bloody cool people from every corner of the globe, I have crossed paths with, and of course a few not quite so cool too, but as they say 'accentuate the positive', right? and not my monetary Hive.

There are many times when I have been angry, incredibly sad, downright depressed (maybe more than I've ever let on), when I have hopped online and struck the keys with anger, excitement or just pure old purpose and I have felt the negative feelings simply melt away, this 'outlet' has been invaluable to me, many, many times!

Why am I telling you all of this?

Well I am writing this in response to an engagement/posting topic prompt set by a dude who I have an enormous amount of time and a great respect for, somebody who I am utterly bloody proud to know, if you know me, you likely know who he is as I have often waxed lyrical about this amazing guy (who I'm convinced, bloody hates people referring to him in this fashion!!!).

A man who as far as I have observed, has always gone out of his way in encouraging, noticing and engaging with the un-noticed majority. By this, I mean the new users here, those who toil in relative obscurity and who yearn for somebody to leave them a comment, maybe strike up a little rapport, so often the difference when it comes to retention here and often the 'one small thing' that makes all the difference and promotes a feeling of fulfilment.

I am of course referring to the Aussie enigma himself, @galenkp and especially to his weekend engagement posting and engagement topic. I know he is all of the things I just claimed above, as I remember him reaching out to me many moons ago and saying something along the lines of...

"I see you put a lot of effort in to your posts with little in the way of engagement or reward, keep on keeping on, people WILL find you."

I was a little bit thrilled if I am gonna' be completely honest. That message meant more to me than you can imagine. That's why I occasionally sound like a bit of a G-dog fangirl and I make no apology.

This weeks weekend engagement posting topic as always, had several prompt options revolving around the word/concept 'without'.

I chose the option:

Imagine that Hive ceased to exist. Which Hive accounts (people not communities) would you miss and why?

As you can see, I didn't fully stick to the prompt and I'm certain he will not be remotely surprised as I am a rebel... A renegade... A bloody crazy-assed, long winded British dude who is old enough to know better and cease being an idiot but who quite clearly never will!

This wasn't the prompt that most resonated with me, but I have to be honest I finished a 12 hour shift a short while ago and leave the house 10 hours after getting in to start another one and fancied something light, bright and breezy and it also lets me share with you something that is very cool to me...

I've been here for 4 frikkin' years. I can scarcely believe that much time has passed!

image.png

If you were to click on my profile, check my stats you would realise how utterly unremarkable my journey has been. Many arrived way after me and left me for dust. Many grabbed the stunning opportunity with both hands and have made pretty substantial financial rewards. Many latched on to a whale and surfed their way to bigger things and more expansive waters and built a huge profile.

Me? Oh I confess that I do wish life afforded me a little more time for my blockchain ambitions, but on the whole, I came here and acted as nothing other than the Steven Wood dude that I have spent almost half a century being.

it's a pretty unremarkable story, but the central character is real.

image.png

I've never turned any of my rewards back in to fiat and have no plans to do so any time soon. I have spent much of what has come to me for my efforts supporting some cool initiatives on Hive, gave some delegations to new users who impressed me, given away a little in prizes, sent some to a blockchain charity or 2 and even supported some real life causes that touched me deeply when I heard about them.

I would hate to think that my efforts here ever became focussed on anything other than just enjoying the interaction, connection and fun that this amazing place affords, while expanding the parameters of who I am as a dude who shares this space with so, so many others.

Truthfully, I did think of a number of people who I have been incredibly happy, thankful, fortunate to cross paths with, many of whom, have 'genuinely' enriched my life with but I didn't want this post to turn in to a gratuitous tag-fest.
image.png

Being even more truthful though, I was terrified of missing names off that list, there, I said it 😁

Lest to say that to anyone who has taken time to engage with me, comment on my rambling epics, share encouragement or become a friend, YOU have been a part of and important to my journey and instrumental in me still being here 4 years later.

It's easy to only ever notice the downside of this community and lord knows they exist, we all know people here who ONLY see such things, but I can tell you something, when it is at it's best this community is nothing short of BLOODY MAGNIFICENT!!

Thanks for the memories Hive, here's to the next year and many, many more of them.

Thank YOU for taking the time to read my post and if you're one of those amazing people who like to hit the comments section... Then I doubly thank YOU!

Either way I want you to know that you are appreciated!

Keep taking the time to connect with each-other both here and in the 'so-called' real world and try and look after each-other, because as you already know...

Together We're Just Better.png

image.png

I am an incredibly proud member of #TeamUK I love the global community immensely, but it is nice to have a home-team banner to add to my posts. The banner was made by the inimitable RoastMaster General himself @c0ff33a If you are an active UK member and would like to be added to the teamUK community on Discord, just let me know 😎

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency