How I Met My BAE

Hi everyone!

After a few months of hiatus for one reason and another, now I'm back!

I was browsing the feeds when I stumbled on this post, a posting contest about BAE (Before Anyone Else). I read the rules, it seems interesting. Love to read some of the stories posted there too. So, I'm in! Here's the story about how I met my BAE.



Aditita.jpg

Around June 2012, my friend Maya introduced me to her friend Adit, via Twitter. It was matchmaking, because at that time we were both single and she thought that we had many things in common, like we were both horror writers and love to wear dark outfits. So I investigated his social media to find out more about him. (Later he told me that he was investigating my social media too.)

From the results of the investigation and brief chats on social media with him, it turns out that there are quite a lot in common between us, indeed. I also felt quite into him, but wasn’t sure enough (later he also said he was interested in me but also wasn’t sure). I didn’t want to waste my time playing a guessing game. So a few weeks later, I asked him to meet to see if there was real chemistry or not. If there wasn’t, I prefer to end it soon.

We set a schedule for dinner. I didn't prepare much, because I thought it was just a casual meeting, not a first date. I was wearing a t-shirt, jacket, jeans, and sneakers. Plus a laptop bag, because at that time I was from work.

We met at the mall entrance and headed to the restaurant on the mall's rooftop. It was a casual-family restaurant, not a romantic and expensive one. We ordered food and talked about mostly general things like work, daily activities, hobbies, and so on. Our conversation flowed as it was.

In fact, when we were talking about work, I even opened my laptop to show my work to him (I was working at an Augmented Reality startup company as a visual designer, which was not familiar in Indonesia yet at that time).

He seemed enthusiastic to see the AR videos that I showed and we discussed the technology. (Later he admitted that his interest in me was escalated right when I did the "AR presentations". Who'd guessed that he likes a tomboy-geek girl more instead of a girly one).

We both enjoyed our first meeting. So we arranged for another rendezvous. After a while, we were getting closer and more comfortable with each other. Two weeks later, Adit looked me in the eyes and said: "Hey, we were introduced by Maya to be matched."

I soon understood what he was talking about. Then I casually replied, “Yep. So?"
"Okay then. Let's be in a relationship!"
"Let's go then. Who's scared?"

And, that's it, just like that. On August 16, 2012, we officially started dating. At that time we agreed to have a serious but smooth relationship. Each of us had been hurt by past relationships, we don't want to repeat that. So we thought that there was no need for a long term and full of drama relationship.

Few months later, we agreed to get married next year and talked about it with our parents. In December 2012, our parents met for the first time. In March 2013 we got engaged. Then we got married in June 2013.

Quite fast? We never thought that we'd get there either. Everything just goes and easy. Sometimes we also face problems, but we tried to find a solution that makes things comfortable for both sides. Eventually, everything will be beautiful at the right time with the right person indeed. Thank God and thanks to our friend, Maya.

The picture above is the two of us, made by me, for our wedding poster.



Thank you for reading my story. Thanks so much to @edenmichelle (EGGSTA), @tarazkp and @galenkp who held and funded this contest. All the best for all of you, guys!

Interested to share your story too? Read the rules here and let’s write! Time is almost up. Good luck, everyone!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency