This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

My opinion on cigar smoking 🚬 || Weekend Engagement #171

My opinion on cigar smoking

IMG-20230916-WA0008.jpg

On the box it says: This product is harmful to health and addictive.

Greetings Hive friends and dear weekend experience community ✨.

My weekend is going well, and as every last weekend, Hive is included with the weekend engagement. Among the proposed topics, I liked all three of them, however I chose to write about my opinion on cigarette smoking.

My main problem was where do I get pictures, because I am not a cigarette user, nor do I have someone close to me who does. So I went grocery shopping and took the opportunity to take pictures of them in the grocery store 😉.

My opinion about cigarette smoking

I usually like to tell a reference as to why I currently think this way. In this case it was a school talk many years ago in high school, in it they were talking about legal and illegal drugs, among the legal ones was the cigarette, and there were also the consequences of its use. I always liked to pay attention to things, not only to listen to the class because it was a class, but to understand the words the speaker was saying. Internalizing that what he was saying was not a game, it was part of real life and decisions that sooner or later everyone will have to make: To consume or not to consume.

Since I was a teenager I made the decision not to drink alcoholic beverages, smoke, or use any kind of drugs. I have tried to be faithful to my decision, what I do realize is the repercussion that social pressure has on these issues, it becomes annoying. For example, if I went to a party I had to drink alcohol, to be "cool" and "fun". Many give in to social pressure, I once gave in to trying an alcoholic beverage that I don't even know what it's called, so they would leave me alone. I didn't like the taste, nor did I feel good about doing that. I just thought I wouldn't do that again, because I wasn't comfortable.

With cigarettes it's been less social pressure, but if there was a time where I felt that pressure to do it so you can be cool.

Specifically about cigarettes, I dislike the smell, and I think about the consequences of using it. I want to take care of my health.

IMG-20230916-WA0011.jpg

On the box it says: Ministry of People's Power for Health WARNING: This product is harmful to health and produces addiction. (Venezuela Smoke Free)

I find it ironic that on cigarette boxes there are pictures of what the lungs look like after cigarette smoking, and consumers just ignore it. They know the consequences, but the addiction has more power.

IMG-20230916-WA0010.jpg

On the box it says: Ministry of People's Power for Health WARNING: Smoking causes lung cancer, cough, pulmonary emphysema and chronic bronchitis.

Electronic cigarette

A few years ago I met some people who were very interested in having electronic cigarettes, because the smell was more pleasant than the traditional cigarette, the smoke had a kind of fabulous view and the designs of the cigarettes attracted attention. They were appearing in music videos and a lot of kids were using them.

Two people nearby were going to buy some and asked me if I wanted one. I said I wasn't interested in that. And the reaction was "Why are you so boring?", I honestly didn't even care. I can't relate smoking to being fun, smoking to being cool, smoking because it's trendy. And of course I didn't buy anything.

They did, they used it for a while and then discarded it when they lost interest in it. I understand that everyone has the freedom to choose what they do with their lives and that includes using cigarettes, what does bother me is wanting to put a person down for not wanting to do it.

Respect

Being a cigarette smoker is a personal decision, which has an impact on the environment, there are passive smokers who only inhale the smoke of those who smoke actively. And in those cases, I consider that each smoker should have the consideration of not exposing the other to cigarette smoke, that is, to have their own space for this.

For a few months I lived in such a situation, and the smoker did it in a secluded place so that others could perceive the smell of cigarette smoke as little as possible.

Respect is also, not to pressure someone who does not want to do it, not to say disqualifying labels with the intention that the person gives in.

I know few people who smoke and I have always thought that this is their decision, I do not like to give unsolicited advice on the subject because I think that everyone is aware of the consequences to a greater or lesser extent.

There are also people who smoked and have quit, I know one who had the habit very deeply rooted, until a time when her doctor told her "if you keep doing it, you will die". This person listened to her doctor and decided to quit. Many years have passed since then and he is no longer a user.

In all cases, the main thing for me is to maintain respect for the other, and respect for myself. Whatever the decision to use or not.

Awareness

I have these kinds of thoughts because of an awareness campaign, I listened and internalized the information. So the value of prevention>! [Hidden Spoiler Text] This is the spoiler content. > Optionally with more lines is high.

Factors that lead a person to be a user: there are many factors that lead someone to this point. Stress, problems at home, playing along with friends, for recreation, etc. In these cases, as well as awareness, there are also sports, a healthy lifestyle, a healthy self-esteem, going to therapy, etc., as protective factors to avoid the consumption of these substances.

I don't think that cigarettes will lose their popularity, even though they are a health risk, an economic expense, something that leaves nothing positive for those who consume them and their environment.

IMG-20230916-WA0013.jpg

IMG-20230901-WA0033.jpg

Weekend Engagement #171; topic proposed by @galenkp; Topic one: - What are your personal thoughts on cigarette smoking habit/addiction? Write about your own experiences, pro or con, and discuss the topic in general.

IMG-20230901-WA0033.jpg

Happy weekend to all 🎉 😘 .

All content is my own and images are my property

Separator | Canva

Translated by DeepL