Landrover Diaries: A Landrover Gathering In Victoria

Well, that was a kinda fun weekend. I do like to complain about being dragged along to Landrover things, but I secretly enjoy it. This was a small meet up with the Landrover Club of Victoria in Lismore. It wasn't too far for us to go - only an hour - so we headed along to see some Landies owners show off their vehicles - and of course, we didn't mind showing off Buttercup either. If you haven't met Buttercup, she's our Series 3 in the bottom left photo below - the grey one.

Whilst I can think of more exciting things than watching guys tow a tractor and play with an old hay baler, I did enjoy taking this icon Aussie photo with a Series 1 Landrover, made in the 1950's. With that blue sky and the hay, it couldn't get more Aussie farmer than that.


DSC05059.jpg

The one below is a lovely Series 1 - or LBG (lights behind grill). I'm beginning to recognise which is which at a glance, but sometimes I do get it wrong. If there's any Landie freaks out there, do correct me in the comments below. How cool are the fuel tanks up the front?

DSC05058.jpg

The trailer below is pretty groovy, don't you think? I don't think we'd do something like this but you have to love the inventiveness of it!

DSC05033.jpg

This one needs a bit of a buff, what d'ya reckon?

DSC05040.jpg

I was really interested in this Series ute, mainly as we'll be doing a ute as well. The limestone white looks good.

DSC05042.jpg

The short wheel base ones like the one below are getting harder to come by and have really gone up in value. I'd love one, especially a Series 3 shorty - it'd be a dream. But to find one is near impossible as all the hipsters are buying them up.

![DSC05047.jpg](

How cute is this firetruck?

![DSC05036.jpg](

We did notice that nearly all of them had a 12V fridge in. Why? To keep the beer cold, of course. There were lot sof nice camping set ups, but none like ours you could sleep in the back of. Most had tents.

![DSC05038.jpg](

Ah, here's dear old Buttercup, going around the obstacle course. The bridge was fun. I jumped out to take photos, especially on a couple of the super steep hills which make me nervous.

![DSC05084.jpg](

This is Jamie's mates Mick's military shorty. Cool huh? I did wonder if you owned a military, whether you had to wear camouflage. Mick had camo shorts on, so you can see why I thought that. Check out the 6x6 - now that's a huge, huge beast! They are wider than a traditional Defender.

![DSC05067.jpg](

There were quite a few Defenders there - such as the ones below. The red 130 on the right had been to Mongolia! That's inspiring. That's what we hope to do with our 130. We just found out Landrover are going to make a new 130. They are basically the dual cab and a bit longer. People seem to like them in Australia - you can fit the family in and have the canopy on the back.

I quite like the photo below. I'm not brilliant at car photography but every now and then I get one that I like. Or maybe it's because it's an old Landie and you can't go wrong.

DSC05096.jpg

The one below is like Buttercup - a series 3. This is in Camino Gold colour, which was popular in Australia. We didn't like it so much so we painted ours grey.

DSC05120.JPG

Below is a few lined up at the machinery show in Cobden where everyone went the next day. We entered the line up as it saved us the 20 buck entry fee. I wasn't that keen on the tractors and so on - that's Jamie's thing - so I mainly sat in the back of ours and had a cuppa and chatted to anyone that came past and wanted to chat to me about Landies. Sometimes I remember enough to sound like I know what I'm talking about.

DSC05151.JPG

Hope you all had a nice weekend. Let me know what you think in the comments below, or tell me your own weekend story..

imageedit_1_5780380867.png

You can read our other Landrover posts by clicking on any of the links below. Follow us on Instagram @wildtrackdreaming

In Which We Buy A Series 2 and a S3 Military
RedNeck in the Australian Bush: A Landover Horror Story
Buying the 130
Landrover Camper Improvements
Progress on Series 3
Series 3 Restoration Complete
Nut and Bolt Restoration Ending - Series 3
How to Trick Your Wife Into a New Landrover
Series 3 Build Progress
Starting the Rebuild
70th Anniversary at Cooma

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency