Weekend Engagement - A Starry Weekend With Huskies!

image.png

This weekend you can choose to do anything from the items listed below. What do you choose and why? Write at least 400 words.

  • Surfing safari, Ericeira, Portugal
  • Husky trekking the arctic circle, Finland
  • Safari in the Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
  • Hiking and an overnight stay, Machu Picchu, Peru
  • Skydiving from a plane over the Grand Canyon, USA
  • Kayaking expedition on the Adriatic, Croatia and Montenegro
  • A deer hunting trip with me in the Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
  • Star gazing with a telescope and a astrophysicist, Tenerife, Canary Islands
  • Off roading and camping in the Byfield National Park, Queensland, Australia

Yes, am back this weekend after a short break to participate in the Weekend Engagement prompts! I actually think the list is so extensive and it would be a waste to only pick one, so I would choose two from the list!

1) Star gazing with a telescope and a astrophysicist, Tenerife, Canary Islands

My top choice would be star gazing. I am not sure if it's just me, but some of the scientific stuff just never fail to amaze me. I remember visiting observatories and science-related museums and there's something so fascinating about the outer space, the planets, the stars, you get what I mean.

From what I googled, these areas are top choices because of their excellent location, and they don't have light pollution from urban areas. For me, I live in the city where this is so much lights even at night so it's really not possible to have a meaningful star gazing experience over here.

This also reminded me of a visit to Griffin Observatory when I was in Los Angeles, USA. Not a top choice for a travel itinerary amidst all the shopping districts and theme parks, but I still made the trip up the hill on a rainy afternoon because of my personal interest.

So star gazing is my top pick because I thought it would be an extension of my interest and would surely be an amazing experience.

20180501_122019.jpg

2) Husky trekking the arctic circle, Finland

One can never resist the cuteness of these huskies! I personally haven't been to Finland, but whenever I hear from friends or colleagues that have gone there, this is definitely one of their top activities! So I would love to try this out.

I actually did some Googling and found out that they do cater different activities for everyone. There are the ultimate ones like the 5km rides or just shorter ones like 1km and 2km for those who just want a quick taste of the experience. Aside from that, they have the Husky Park where visitors get to interact more closely with the huskies and see their puppies. That definitely sounds fun!

Of course, there are also other great stuff like staying in igloos, chasing Northern Lights, etc and it all sounds exciting! And this makes Finland a favourite travel destination for some (or rather, for those who can afford it because I think things are pretty expensive over there lol!).

P.S. The only downside for me is that I don't really enjoy freezing cold temperatures so I will probably have to pack myself in multiple layers of clothes for this experience.

So that's all for my sharing! Feel free to share with me your thoughts too! Thanks for reading and have a pleasant weekend ahead!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency