Goodbyes and New Beginnings

This past week and the one to come has been one of endings and new beginnings. I decided around May to look for a new job (I'm a teacher in high school) as my current school had a lot of insecurities and my job was increasingly in danger. Last Friday the time was there: I was saying goodbye to my school at the end of the schoolyear! I am happy with the new school that I have found, which will also include a move to a different province. So for me this is a time of goodbyes and also of new beginnings.

Choosing What is Right for You

It was hard to make the decision to leave: a new place to work and live means a lot of unknowns. But I am very happy I made the decision. My work was getting increasingly more insecure and toxic. Since a new boss many people have been forced to leave in a not so nice way, added to that the stress of teaching in corona times and I could see myself and my colleagues becoming increasingly unhappy at this place. So I decided to leave, and it was not just me 32 people out of a staff of 100 teacher have decided to leave this school.
Now that I have been away even for just a couple of days I can already feel the stress seeping out of my body slowly... bar for the fact that I still need to get paid for an extra job I did and it seems they are trying to prevent me from getting it. Anyway bottom line is: leave toxic work places you health and happiness is more important than a job!

Saying Goodbye to the Kids

The hardest thing for me was saying goodbye to my kids. I know I am leaving them in a vulnerable spot, in a school with a lot of turmoil and I've been teaching the same classes for three years in a row. Mostly I will miss my tutor class, who I have been a tutor of for two years. I know all the kids and their parents really well. So we decided to have a good end to things and go for a fun outing. I asked the kids what they wanted to do and they chose to go trampoline jumping
image.png

It turns out when you are 30 you are not as flexible and fit anymore as these 15 year old's haha! After that we went for a round in the party bus
image.png

It was a good way to end two fun years together.

New Beginnings

So after the goodbyes it will be time for new beginnings soon. We have finally found a place to live (which was hell in the current housing market) and will get the keys Monday! Tuesday will be moving day and then I will have three weeks of vacation left before I start my new job. I am very excited and a bit nervous to start all over again at a new school, but I get really good vibes from my new place and looking forward to a new area to live in after 9 years in Leiden. Bring on the adventure!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency