Bukit Gombak Park

#WednesdayWalk is a challenge started by @tattoodjay, The idea is to get out for a short walk, and get some shots of what you can see within a short distance of your home office or wherever you start.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ WednesdayWalk ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

1.jpg

​Bukit Gombak park is a new park. It opened a couple of weeks ago.​ According to Google map, it is only 2.5 km, or 31 minutes' walk from my house. It is a good distance for a walk and a wander in the park. So, I went to have a look on Sunday to see what's there.

It is not a very big park. In land scarce Singapore, I think apart from the Botanic gardens and the Gardens by the Bay, all other gardens and parks are quite small.

2.jpg

3.jpg

The park is between blocks of high rise apartments on one side and townhouses on the other.

4.jpg

5.jpg

There is what they call a Dog Run. I guess with more Singaporeans keeping dogs, there will be more of these kinds of places in parks and gardens in the future.
6.jpg

7.jpg

There is a butterfly garden too. I saw quite a few beautiful and colourful ones. But none had time to stop for photo taking. Maybe I will get lucky next time.
8.jpg

Pretty flowers everywhere. Here are some of them.
9.jpg

10.jpg

11.jpg

12.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

15.jpg

Beyond the garden is a patch of Nature which has escaped development - for the time being.
16.jpg

17.jpg

18.jpg

An exercise station, and behind it a children's playground.
19.jpg

These are garden plots for community gardening. Due to their popularity, you have to ballot for them. Generally, they go by 3 years leasing and you pay about $60 a year for a plot. This comes with soil in the planter box and a small storage area for your tools. You can use your creativity and plant herbs, vegetables or ornamental plants.

20.jpg

21.jpg

22.jpg

If you are tired after your little excursion, you can have something to eat, or drink at the restaurant called Whisk and Paddle.
IMG20210912163422.jpg

I am glad I went to have a look. Quite an interesting place. It would be even better when the community gardeners moved in.

I am sure I will visiting again before too long. This is a good alternative walk route for me. Just the right distance.

ecency.png

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Follow me if you find my posts interesting. Cheers!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency