[Week 159] Living the 70's in my country (Venezuela).



My current age is 55 years old, I was born at the end of 1967 and if someone were to ask me in which years I would like to live with my current age, I would say in the 70s.

These are the reasons why I would like to live and witness from another point of view and not from that of my childhood:

In these years many political and social changes were lived but also very marked by culture and especially by fashion and aesthetics.

In my country Venezuela there was a bonanza that unfortunately lasted only until the beginning of the 80s. We were called the Saudi Venezuela and it was very easy to travel to the United States, especially to the city of Miami, where we were well known for compulsive shopping.



Source

I must admit that it was a time of excess, and in Caracas we had the best French restaurants in all of Latin America and as a curious fact Venezuelans became the biggest consumers of whiskey in the world.

It was very easy to get music from anywhere in the world, especially if it was in English, from Led Zeppelin, Yes, Genesis, Toto, ABBA, The Jackson 5 and many others. There were very good national groups and musicians such as The 3 sad tigers, Henry Stephen, Trino Mora and Latin Dimension.

By the way I want to hear first hand all the Led Zepellin recordings, a fundamental pillar of Hard Rock music and later Heavy Metal.

It was the time of vinyl records and cassettes that you had to turn over to listen to both sides, of course.



Source

I would buy every imported Led Zepellin album I could get my hands on and see the movie The Song is the Same.

In the 70's in Venezuela the hippie fashion and disco fever was accentuated, it was very common to see in the street people wearing velvet, polyester and many elastic and shiny fabrics. This was the decade of what was called flower power.




Source

The pretty women of this era wore their hair loose, straight, wavy and sometimes tousled, parted in the middle and wore many bandanas, scarves and turbans. Men wore sideburns, long straight or afro hair and often grew beards.

Clothing categorized as unisex came into fashion, both men and women had the same style in clothing, hairstyles, accessories, etc. They wore wide pants but high-waisted and tight at the waist, flared boots as in the 60's but then the pants became flared from the waist to the hem, they used platform shoes, button down shirts, short sleeve flannels and many more garments for both sexes.



Source

These years were of great apogee for the production of cinema, television and theater. Great international hits such as The Godfather, Rocky, Jaws, The Last Tango in Paris, The French Conection and Grease, among many others, arrived in our country.

Bookstores proliferated and there was a great offer of national and foreign newspapers and magazines.

In the city of Caracas in the Chacaito Shopping Center, Le Drugstore became famous, a place where they sold hot dogs of one meter, giant beers, sandwiches of exotic mixtures, gigantic ice creams, chocolate bars and crepes of unimaginable flavors.




Source

Clothing and shoe stores always displayed the latest fashions and all the well-known brands were represented in the country.

There was no color television and a lot of radio was listened to, in addition to the betamax fashion, so many copies of famous movies began to circulate throughout the country.

It was possible to go out at night, of course with the necessary precautions, and even wake up at dawn outside the house.

Economics and politics were simply not an issue. In 1973, the OPEC Arab bloc's oil embargo on Western countries caused the price of crude oil to quadruple, and under these circumstances oil was nationalized in 1975.

The result was a rain of petrodollars and a new sense of confidence that the country would develop, but serious mistakes were made, imports were not properly replaced, and the state began to grant subsidies and protectionist tariffs.




Source

The Venezuelan's salary level made it possible to fill the supermarket carts to the brim, and there was a wide variety of products to choose from with many international products whose factories were being established in the country.
If you saved three or four months of your salary you had enough money to buy a car or put a down payment on a property, where the banks gave you payment facilities for up to thirty years.

If you wanted to go abroad it was very simple, just with a valid passport you could go to the airport and buy your ticket.

There were many exchange houses and it was very easy to change from bolivars to any international currency, these were scattered throughout the country.

At this time as a 55 year old person, the first thing I would do would be to invest in real estate and personal property, this would be very simple for me because I had already studied taking advantage of the scholarships that the state was giving both nationally and internationally.

I would enjoy with criteria, the imposed fashions and I would not miss any presentation of international artists such as Gloria Gaynor, Tina Turner, The Jackson Five, Rare Earth, and Santana among many others.

I would buy a good sound system and the acetate records of the artists of my musical preference, I would take great care of them and treat them as a priceless treasure.

I would watch the World Cup in Mexico 70 with excitement as it was transmitted live and direct for the first time in Venezuela.

I would attend the boxing match in which George Foreman would defend his crown against Ken Norton, also an American, and I would try to ask Muhammad Ali, who was in the audience as a special guest, for an autograph.



Source

As it is very easy to buy dollars, I would buy and save them in this currency to protect myself from inflation, and I would not waste the money, but rather I would use it to create a company providing a good or service that would generate many jobs and logically I would invest in stock market shares in food technology companies and services that would potentially generate an appreciable value in the future.



Source

I hope to cover my financial future and that of my family for what is to come, since it is clear that wastefulness, public spending, and bad government policies will take their toll on the economy, and an era of crisis and inflation will begin.

This is my participation in the Weekend-Engagement writing topics: WEEK 159 Link Here initiative promoted by @galenkp.

I hope you have a profitable and excellent weekend, and that my posting was to everyone's liking. Best regards.

Fifty, sixty or seventy.

If you could live in the fifties, sixties or seventies (at your current age) which would it be and why? Write a post of 300+ words and use photos of yourself whenever possible.

The first image is my property and belongs to my Led Zepellin t-shirt.

The sixth image was modified in order to represent a Caracas from the 70's, I only modified the color of this image, which is free to use and comes from Pixabay Link Here.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency