[Week 119] Weekend-Engagement concept : I am reading A Confederacy of Dunces.

I am currently enjoying A Confederacy of Dunces, a story that was published 11 years after the suicide of author John Kennedy Toole. At the insistence of his mother, (Thelma Toole). This work was published in 1980. It is acclaimed by readers and was awarded the Pulitzer Prize in 1981.

From the prologue written by Walker Percy, (to whom the book was presented in 1976 by the author's mother), the book invites you to read it.



This work is fascinating because of its wacky and intelligent humor. As I begin to read the novel, one senses that Ignatius J. Reilly's world is limited to his bedroom and the movies. The characters that appear in the novel are very well constructed and portray in a certain way what was happening in New Orleans in the early sixties of the last century. The character at first seems repugnant to us, but as the reading progresses we grow fond of him.

Ignatius' mother cannot understand why society does not recognize her son's intelligence, and the son despises the contempt of others. Until he has no choice but to work. Each job becomes a crazy adventure.

An unimportant event happens to Ignatius from the stable equilibrium he used to enjoy. Ignatius J. Reilly is a kind of intellectual savior who enjoys himself at the expense of others and dislikes the modern world, eventually taking refuge in the Middle Ages. In the midst of flatulence and belching he fills and fills notebooks with humiliating words against modernity.

He has a girlfriend named Myrna Minkoff who does not lose hope with Ignatius and his madness, she always falls in love with the wrong man.

The protagonist has gastrointestinal problems and does not like them:

Freud, homosexuals, heterosexuals, Protestants and all the abominations of these modern times.

It is such a catchy book in which he satirizes, and humanizes his characters, and when you open it you can't stop reading it, at least in my case. Unfortunately, the author decided to commit suicide after failing to publish this novel.

I am scheduled to read next week a work by American historian James C. Davis called The Human Story . Our History: Front the Stone Age to Today, which covers the human historical periods through the civilizations. The book was recommended to me because in addition to being instructive and educational, it has a very pleasant prose and is not what we call a brick because of how heavy these works that tell us about history can sometimes be.



Currently, the reading of books is done digitally, on the one hand, this is beneficial because there are certain apps that include computer books for payment, and even free which favors not cutting down trees, even certain apps read these books in the language of our choice.

Another very noticeable behavior is that with the existence of consoles such as X-Box or Play Station, the adventures and stories that in the past were narrated on paper are built digitally and lives by young and not so young people.

In particular I must say that I am used to reading on paper, although I have access to computer media such as tablets and computers I feel that it is not the same to use your own imagination, your point of view and your wit to describe a situation or a paragraph you are reading. On several occasions I have tried to listen to books using my tablet, and the result is that I fall asleep and the Tablet falls on my face, or I simply leave the app because I do not find it organic to listen to a story with a voice that is not to my taste and where all the characters have the same voice.

As for consoles I must say that I like to play and put myself in character, but for my taste the visual and even auditory appeal of my imagination has no comparison with any algorithm or image that I can see through a computer or a console.

This is my participation in the [Week 119] Weekend-Engagement concept Link Here initiative promoted by @galenkp in the WEEKEND EXPERIENCES community.

Weekend Reading.

What book are you reading this weekend and why? What do you like about it? This answer has to be about a book you are currently reading, not one you have read before. Photograph the book as an image for this post. (Your own photos only.) Bonus points for telling us what's the next book on your list to read and why.

Greetings to all and happy weekend, we're reading to you.

The pictures are my authorship and were taken with my cell phone Iphone 4.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency