A Very Valuable Lesson

There are moments in life that leave a great lesson and many times you didn't even expect it, in my case the lesson was given to me by my best friend, her name is Keyla.

We met in college, when we coincided in some subjects in the first semester, she is a noble and sensitive soul, a beautiful friend with a heart that is worth gold.

Although we both studied engineering, I went for Industrial Engineering and she for Civil Engineering. In the first four semesters the subjects were the same so we always managed to match our schedules and together with other friends we made a great study group.

Our careers went hand in hand until each one of us started to take subjects specific to each school, so we did not coincide so often and each one of us formed our own study group.

When we were already in the fifth semester, one day I found her in the administrative offices taking steps to freeze the semester, I did not understand why she would do that, for me my university career was the most important thing in my life, so I did not understand how someone could put a stop to it.

img_0.5530147160501625.jpg

Pixabay

Keyla unburdened herself to me, she was going through a stage of depression in her life, and I was her friend and hadn't noticed it.

She had not been able to form a study team, when she had to do projects with other people it was difficult because the group of students with whom she coincided in almost every class was hermetic, and although she is a very sociable person, she could not fit in, this affected her in such a way that there were nights when she could not sleep, and other times she woke up crying for no apparent reason.

Fortunately, my dear friend realized that she had to take a break from her life, sought help and received it, continued with her career the following semester and later graduated. If she had not stopped in time, it would have been a different story.

My dear Keyla shrunk her mental health, she showed me that sometimes you have to take a break in life to be able to continue, she came out of this situation stronger, this pause she made served as an impulse to continue with her career.

Another aspect that I learned through her is that, when a depressive disorder is beginning in a person, it is not easy for those around us to realize it. I even reproached myself for this, how could I not realize it? If she was my friend, my best friend, and I did not notice that she was going through that situation.

But it is difficult, you have to be very observant, sometimes the details that the depressed person shows are minimal, and they disappear. On the other hand, the rhythm of life we have is hectic, which even makes it difficult for us to share with our friends and loved ones.

It is the depressed person who must seek help in order to cope. Because even if we want to help them, if they do not allow us to do so, we will not be able to do anything.

Another aspect to consider is that the depressed person should seek professional help, in my ignorance I told Keyla to think positively, to be optimistic, and it is not that this is bad, it is that it is not enough, it is that she needed to be given psychological tools to face this situation.

Thank God my dear Keyla was able to get out of that situation, many other people don't make it.

She and I are still friends, and I am happy to have her in my life.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency