OGBUNIKE CAVE (A PLACE WHERE I DEFEATED FEAR)

img_0.06618997213925544.jpg

source

Good day to all my fellow hivians around the world, my name is Ezego favor miles chidera, popularly known as @milezofplay a 22 year old Nigerian. This will be my first ever post in this interesting community @theweekend.

Today I will be telling you of a special place I visited during my childhood days.

img_0.7070499347337204.jpg

source

I remember those days when I was still very innocent and life seemed rather less complicated. I can never forget about this place because it made me very close to nature and it made me face my fears.

Growing up me and my siblings were always very scared of the dark, we hated going out in the night, and my dad took advantage of this because he would always intentionally send us outside, just to make us scared.

He always told us that the night was beautiful, and we shouldn't be scared of darkness.

During that period, me and my siblings didn't really care about the problems and issues in the world. We just viewed the earth from our little inexperienced eyes.

Question for the weekend

Tell us about one of your most favoured, enjoyable, beautiful or idyllic moments spent in nature - Where and when was it, what did you do there. Your garden, the woods, the seaside, tropical paradise or desert, a park in the city or the wide open plains; anywhere counts as long as it was a moment spent with nature.

When I was around the age of 4-6 years, my father got fed up of us been so scared of the dark, he told us about a cave in my village called the "OGBUNIKE CAVE", it was a very ancient cave that dated back to the days of our forefathers, he said.

img_0.02018465503569117.jpg

source

He told us that it had a very scary and dark entrance. But yet it was so beautiful at night. You could look up to the sky's and see the bright stars alongside bird chirping and the smell of clean waters flowing through the cave at night.

I remember me and my siblings refusing to go alongside my dad to visit this place, but we had no choice because he eventually forced us to go.

It was during the Christmas holiday, when we traveled back to the village for the seasons celebration. Our visit to the ogbunike cave was scheduled for a day after we arrived.

I remember that day like it was yesterday, my dad drove us to the venue around 6 in the evening. By the time we got to the entrance the sun had already gone down and every where was getting dark.

The fear as usual started to creep in.

The entrance of the cave had a little stream that flowed with clear and clean water, it flowed right into the cave, and it gave it a very beautiful touch.

img_0.895753225924033.jpg

source

At first we hesitated to follow my father into the cave because the entrance alone was like we were about stepping into another world on its own. It was so dark, I could not see the insides till I steeped into the cave.

But when I stepped my feet inside I was amazed, the view was so beautiful.

My dad pointed up showing us bat's sleeping at the top of the cave upside down, it gave us the goosebumps, we were so scared but at the same time we loved it and we had finally lost our fear for the dark.

My father had found a unique way of solving the big problem of fear in all our lives. After that day we have visited the cave 3 more times and both of the times I went, I did so alone and in the evening.

This year will make it about 5 years I visited the cave. I would love to go there in the future to remember and cherish lost and old memories.

Maybe in about 5-7 years when I will have my own family.

MONEY IS TIME..... @milezofplay

img_0.7812921333085213.jpg

source made with canva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency