Weekend Engagement Concept; Would You Rather..

Hello Everyone! Happy weekend 😇

Thank you @galenkp for giving us such amazing topics every weekend. This time I decided to write on the first one;

img_0422.png

Would you rather work in a job you totally hate but pays you well or work in a job you love and you find inspiring but the pay was low and you had to strictly budget your financial matters

This is basically a should I choose money or passion predicament. Well the truth of the matter is that yes I would work in a job I totally hate but pays me well because the fear of loosing financial security can be scary. These are a few reasons why;

  • Fear; The fear of finances(not being able to pay the bills or having financial stability). If we’re all being honest working in a job you love but hardly pays the bills doesn’t cut it.

  • Certainty; There’s this heavy weight that’s lifted off your shoulders when you think of the future and you’re not as worried as you should be. For example; if you’re having a baby, you’d be happy to know that financially you’re ready to take on the expenses of caring for an extra person. Or if you require medical attention; something a bit serious like a surgery; someone who’s just managing to pay his/her would be more likely to struggle after they’re done paying the medical fee before going back to breaking even again.

  • Comfort; Even though I hate my job, being in a good position with a good income can as well provide me the comfort I need. I’m someone who likes to buy the things I want and need, I love living life, taking trips, eating out e.t.c. But how can I do all of this when I’m barely making enough money.

  • Opportunities; Every job despite how miserable it is can always pose as an opportunity to learn new things; whether it’s a digital skill or a marketing skill. It can help you improve in at least one area in your life. Either way you’re still getting something out of it.
    Now depending on the where I work; it wouldn’t be completely worthless on my resumè especially when it comes to the reputation of my employer.

Finally what I always tell myself is that it’s okay to want to work where you have the passion but that wouldn’t be a good decision for everyone, some people can afford to live off their passion probably because they have their parents backing/money but some of us don’t. So yes to me, I’d rather work in a job I hate, save enough money, try to plan myself and my future and then decide to do what I love or what I’m passionate about.
Suffer now...enjoy later.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency