This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Music is Life for the Soul

Music has been a part of me my entire life. For about 10 years, I was the Primary Chorister at church. I led and taught the music for all the kids at church that were 18 months to 11 years old. Every Sunday, I would prepare activities and games for the kids to be able to learn songs during the year. Each year we had a theme, and there would be a performance of the songs each October. We worked every Sunday for about 20 minutes in order to have them memorize these songs. In addition to the songs we would learn for the program, we also sang songs to celebrate the seasons, holidays, birthdays, and just other songs for fun or that would teach them other concepts and principles.

img_0.6436610324723954.jpg

I have always loved music and have performed in choirs and made all-regional choir in high school as an Alto. I have been in musical theater programs in which we performed Guys and Dolls, The Wizard of Oz, and Seven Brides for Seven Brothers. Growing up we listened to a lot of Big Band Music, and songs that used to be considered oldies- 50s and 60s music. I also love 80s music. My dad would play classical music often on our long car rides. I have been exposed to many different types of music and have learned that music should be respected, never underestimated.
While being Primary Chorister, I felt a great responsibility. The songs I would teach these kids would be the songs that would carry them through their lives. I remember to this day, songs I learned as a child at church. I have sung these songs to my own children. These songs can affect generations.

img_0.902142737683618.jpg

Having a bad day, feeling sad or lonely? Sing a song of worship and see how it fills your soul. Your testimony is strengthened, and core beliefs are taught through song. Singing songs are like prayers put to music. They can express your joy and pain. Songs fill you with hope, and help you express your despair. During times of loss, these songs help you sort through your grief. If you are a person of faith, then songs of worship are healing and comforting to you throughout your life. Bad thoughts enter your head and heart? Sing a song. Anger and frustration at a situation at work or school? Sing a song. Music is powerful and transformative.
I teach my kids to be careful what music they listen to because I know the power of it. What you listen to will be stuck in your head and those lyrics will play over and over. If you listen to sexually explicit music and/or music full of bad language, it carries over into your thoughts, which in turn can carry over into how you speak and how you act. Don't believe me? How many jingles can you still sing that you heard 20+ years ago in television commercials? I could rattle off at least 5 different McDonald's commercials from their various advertising campaigns over the years.

img_0.7103160725929764.jpg

Playing instruments gives a more active role in feeling music. I learned to play the piano as a kid. When sitting down to play, I found it almost to be a form of therapy because of how calming it was to just be carried away in what I was playing. My daughter is playing the piano now as well. It is for fun; just a hobby even, but she is experiencing it.
These are the seeds I am sewing for the next generation in their love of music. I am hoping that my passion of music has come through for them. I know that for me, music is a part of my soul.

img_0.46698537843320537.jpg