Finding my Niche of Happiness: Painting Smiles on Children's Faces

Every happy memory created for a child is another treasure of a lifetime. ~ Donna Marie

IMG_20220928_212919.jpg

Hello, everyone! Today I want to share with you one of the most memorable weekends I get to experience. It was when our company conducted a medical mission for all workers (construction workers) including their families. We were asked if we want to voluntarily spend our time assisting with whatever help needed in that particular activity like assisting the physician with providing the needed medicine/vitamins to the patients, assisting the dentists/doctors, or assisting in preparing/giving food.

Upon hearing it when it was announced in the office, I did not hesitate to volunteer. I wanted to somehow pay the debt of thanks I owe to my company by giving it back by joining the medical mission with my little way of helping.

I had no idea then where I would be assigned but I was willing to help with whatever assistance may be needed. I and my colleagues went to the venue early so they could assign us to different departments. Some were assigned to the pharmacy, some were to assigned to assist the dentist. I did not know then that there was also a department that was in charge of looking after the children while their parents were in long queues for medical check-ups.

And of the activities to be done is to provide the children with coloring books and make sure they would have fun with coloring. But the activity that made me more excited was that there was a face painting activity to make sure that the children will not get bored. So when I learned about it, I immediately asked if they would allow me to join the team. And I was so glad that they assigned me there.

IMG_20220929_204708.jpg

I painted happiness on children's faces. 🎨

The moment I was given the face paint colors, a spark of joy glittered within me. The moment I started painting on those children's faces, I could see in their faces that they were happy (knowing that it was their first time experiencing it). My heart was very full because it was a pleasure that I was given the chance to let these children experience such things (the face painting activity) which I did not experience when I was a child.

I did not just paint colorful images on their faces, but I painted happy smiles that penetrate a colorful memory through their hearts that time can not be erased.

IMG_20220928_210959.jpg

IMG_20220928_211015.jpg

IMG_20220928_211054.jpg

IMG_20220928_211129.jpg

IMG_20220928_211231.jpg

IMG_20220928_211309.jpg

The drawings I made were just very simple but I could see in their faces that they were so happy with the result. These children have shown me that happiness can come from simple things.

After face painting the children's faces, we gave them coloring books and let them bring out their creativity in them. They had fun. And we made sure that they would make the most out of their time doing fun activities while waiting for their parents to come back.

IMG_20220929_204752.jpg

IMG_20220929_204851.jpg

Art in my niche of happiness. But never did I think that sharing my passion for art with these children could give me more happiness.

IMG_20220928_205743.jpg

Upon looking at these children's faces which I have painted, it felt like a space within me was filled up. Sharing my love for art with other people (especially children) and seeing them very happy with the result, even though the drawings I made were very simple, and hearing their genuine "Salamat ate!" (Thank you!) has given me a priceless reward.

Indeed, a great and colorful weekend that has painted a spectacular masterpiece that will forever linger in the gallery of my heart.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency