Weekend Winter Prep

It's time to start preparing for winter up here in North Vermont. While we're not quite yet into fall, I prefer to get my prep done early so I can enjoy some free time in the woods during my favorite fall season.

This week (well actually takes me 2-3 weekends) we are stacking firewood into the woodshed. This is 3 full cords of "green" wood I had delivered. Here in the U.S. a Full Cord of wood is 4ft high x 4ft deep x 8ft long. This will get stacked into the woodshed, where we already have half full of "seasoned" wood from last year. While I had visions of cutting and filling it all myself for free, time constraints and my apparently limited physical capacity did not allow. Yes, I was quite surprised I couldn't just cut, split, and stack like I could 40 years ago... (well maybe not surprised and just disappointed, lol).


Here we are about halfway through the pile. Still a couple rows to go.

It seems early, hard to believe we've just crossed our first year in the new house. Days are still in the low 80's (26-28C), nights in the low 50's (10-12C) but some of the trees are already dropping their leaves, and we are just starting to see some color change on a few. The Aspen's leaves are turning yellow and falling, the apple trees are getting ripe and losing leaves, but we are still over a month away from when all the spectacular color changes typically occur in early October. Thinking it may be an early, long, and cold winter ahead.


A few of the smaller plants changing, and I thought very strange in the background how that maple tree has just one branch that has gone totally red, yet rest is still all green.

And then let's not forget the Apples, many of them soon to be ripe and ready for Apple pies! We are already seeing more deer in the evenings, and on the trailcams out under the trees, picking up the early apple falls.

Next week we are having the backup generator finally connected. It should be interesting to see how that goes. Then it's just a few more mowings of the grass.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency