Visiting our Home Garden and a Green Dragonfly Unexpected Encounter

At last! I was able to see the sun shining brightly in the middle of the clear sky and was able to feel its warmth. You are maybe wondering why I made that kind of remark but it is because for the past week the rain didn't bother to stop. As long as I want to go and visit our home garden, the continuous rainfall prevents me from doing so but since the weather seems in a good mood today, I didn't waste time standing from my sit, bring my phone with me, and made my way to our home garden. I shouldn't lose this chance, after all, we know how the weather plays. It can be sunny at the moment but it can also be rainy with just a snap of a finger.

Image was edited in Canva. Original Image was taken by me

Our home garden is not far from us. It is just a thirty-step walk if my estimation is correct. That isn't enough to make your limbs tremble or make you exhausted but it can still burn a very small percentage of your calories. Still a form of exercise, right? Counting my steps, I was able to reach the rooftop where our home garden is located. The first thing that I noticed is the crops that are currently planted in recyclable plastic pots. As long as I want to include vegetables in my mobile photography session, I chose not to. They are not in a good condition anymore compared to the first time we planted them. They are not bearing many fruits unlike before. I think it's time for us to replant again.

Giving you some facts, having a home garden is a big convenience, especially at this time when the prices of goods and services in the market skyrocketed. If you need some vegetables for your dish, you don't have to go to the market and buy them because your home garden made it easier and more feasible for you. Imagine, you just didn't manage to save your money but also you saved your time and effort. A good alternative and a promising opportunity.

Even though planted crops are not available for some photoshoots, I don't want my effort to go here to be wasted. I chose to have a random subject. A subject that can highlight the home garden and give at the same time the greenish, fresh, and wild ambiance of nature. Luckily for me, wildflowers and wild plants sprouted and grow during the heavy rains so the subjects are settled.

IMG_20220910_105947.jpg

I saw this plant called Shameplant or "Mimosa pudica" in the pot. Here in the Philippines, it is called "Makahiya" plant. Sounds interesting, don't you think? Have you ever seen this one? It is called a Shameplant because when you touched it with your bare hands, its leaves will close just like a shy individual who hides their face from embarrassment and will take time to open its leaves again. It also has a pink flower, but the one that I captured has none. What a pity. I will try again to capture it with a flower blooming next time, for sure it will be a great sight to behold.

IMG_20220910_110048.jpg

IMG20220909152309.jpg

I saw these yellow leaves and decided to take a shot. It reminds me of the color of an ending day which is sunset and also the process of getting older. Hoo! Something deep. You all know that almost all plants have green leaves but as it grows older each day their leaves will turn yellow to brown and will soon fall to the ground indicating that they passed away. Just like the cycle of life, be born, grow continually, then after all of that will vanish someday.

I don't know what these plants are but I included them as part of my subjects. I think the one with small cute leaves just grows there naturally while the other one that is elliptical was given by one of my aunts. You know my parents are both plant lovers and environmentally friendly so there's no doubt that they want different varieties of plants displayed in our garden.

Take a look at the mosses that grow on the wall! It looks so green and lively. I don't know that moss can be a great subject too in photography. They are more likely to grow everywhere since we're experiencing the rainy season. It looks like seaweed under the sea because of its circular shape like leaves.

IMG20220909152400.jpg

However, this wild plant reminds me of dandelions. The plant that we usually blow to make a random wish we want to have. I love how white it is, it seems like it is so pure and delicate to touch. It looks big in the photo but it is not. It is small like a circular marble.

IMG_20220910_110030.jpg

IMG20220909152141.jpg

Upon searching for another subject, I saw these two yellow and orange flowers. It looks so fine and vibrant, reminds me every time how warm and hot it is to be exposed to the scorching sun. While clicking my camera, I saw that an insect is pollinating around the yellow flower, I don't think it is a bee but let's just it be. It is a great opportunity to capture a scene like this so without further interruptions I took my shot.

Thinking that my weekend experience is finished and I took a bunch of photos already. I decided to go down and rest but to my surprise, I saw this big green dragonfly land in a steady iron. I am contemplating if I will try to capture some photographs of it thinking that it will not fly away but my curiosity and willingness to have some shots with the dragonfly made me want to capture it, so I did.

IMG20220909151337.jpg

I slowly walk to it, lift my phone, zoom into the image, and focus on the subject. Once everything is fine I then pressed the shutter button multiple times. I don't want this chance to be gone! Upon capturing it, I can't help but admire how beautiful it is and you know what's the best? The big green dragonfly let me touch its wings without it saying goodbye! It so behaved and let me do what I want. I think the dragonfly felt that capturing him is not my purpose that's why it let me be.

Here are the other shots that I took using my phone.

IMG20220909151429.jpg

In this one, it seems like the dragonfly poses to the camera and then smiled! Look at its mouth! It seems like he is smiling! What do you think? It smiled, right? Oh my, I think I'm in love. Just kidding we're not suitable and meant for each other.

As long as I want to stay in the garden, I chose to finish the photograph session for this day. I spent too much of my time admiring the view, wild plants, wildflowers, and insects. I need to rest. With that, I went down and finished my day with a contented smile marked on my face. My weekend was successfully spent well. Till next time!


All photos used in this article are ALL MINE and were edited using the Lightroom application.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency