Gifting Is Loving!

0001_3460839051_20210626_145953_0000.png
Source, edited with canva

It's the weekend. I woke up at about 5am this morning and looked out the window. It was not dawn yet but I could see the dark clouds, a sign of impending heavy rainfall. I curled back into bed and spent some time reading and commenting on posts.

This post is all about GIFTS and somehow, nature knew and gifted me with a cool morning via the heavy rain. I was tempted to stay in bed but I dressed up and went out. I did not expect I would find another of nature's gift… See it yourself...

screenshot_20210625_152408.jpg
Picture taken by me with my phone

Would you call this a gift? Well, I do! I have no idea how I was able to spot it but somehow I did. I took pictures. It looks like a small butterfly or is it a moth? Hahaha! I'm not a fan of insects. I don't know if I can tell the difference but butterflies are better looking than moths. So this is a butterfly. Do let me know if it's not! 😅

screenshot_20210625_152311.jpg
Picture taken by me with my phone

This brings to mind Mao Zedong's quote -

Kindness in words creates confidence. Kindness in thinking creates profoundness. Kindness in giving creates love.

The #weekend-engagement topic for week 55 hosted by @galenkp is titled THE GIFT and it's all about gifting yourself and others.

Giving gifts is not a natural trait. In my opinion, it's learned. My Dad is a very generous man and I made up my mind to be like him. Also, I have come across generous people who just love to give from the heart. Like Mao Zedong said, giving creates love. In fact, it is an act of love.

gift_4669449_640.jpg
Source

Should the type of gift given matter? I think not. It's the thought that counts. I love giving gifts and I don't mind receiving them. If I had the resources I would gift these cool Hive users things they would love because they are special to me...

To @esther-emmanuel, I would gift her a week's holiday in Santorini Island in the Aegean Sea, Greece because she's always day-dreaming about that place. You deserve some holiday, Madam!

To @kenechukwu97, I would send over a special dish of pounded yam and mixed vegetable soup (aka efo riro). He loves to tease me about it. Isn't it about time you get a taste of it?

To @dreemsteem, an inspiring woman who loves to dreem and work tenaciously to make it a reality, I would gift her a private plane to make our meet-up fun! All things are possible to her that believes.

To @shadowspub who made my introduction to Hive seamless and her prompts which encourage me to keep writing, I would gift her the world's best coffee! She loves coffee and so do I!

Gifts For Me
Part of self love is gifting ourselves the things we love. There's nothing wrong with that. I always spend some me-time by shopping and eating in any of my favourite restaurants.

When I go shopping, I always end up in a bookshop, buying lots of books and lugging them back home.

book_892136_640.jpg
Source

My sister usually smirks at me, like, there was no doubt that's what I would end up coming home with instead of a box of chocolates or biscuits! I love books and the presence of ebooks have not stopped me from purchasing paperbacks or hardcovers. The peculiar smell of new books makes me high! 😃

Another thing I would gift myself with is some days holiday in Venice, Italy.

venice_2085864_640.jpg
Source

I'll do this mainly to ride the gondolas on the canal, visit vineyards and partake in some wine tasting. Italy is well known for its rich culture, Renaissance art, architecture and monuments. I would not want to miss out on their cuisine also.

What gifts do you have in mind for people dear to you? Thank you for visiting my blog.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency