The Part I Hated Before Is Now My Best Asset (WE140)

12 February 2023


"I'm just an ordinary lady who enjoys the simple things in life. No fancy clothes, no cosmetics. I am imperfect, so I have a ton of flaws and mistakes. Even though I may not appear attractive to you, I have a unique beauty all my own."


Growing up with many insecurities and pressures, I used to despise myself and didn't appreciate my own beauty. I found myself looking like an ugly duckling in comparison to those lovely swans. However, as time passed and I gained control of my life, saw things from different perspectives, and became accustomed to this judgmental society, I learned to appreciate my flaws and uniqueness. I may not be attractive, but I am beautiful in my own unique way.

Putting on makeup is just one of the many things women do to feel confident, look beautiful in public, and be accepted by society. While many ladies know how to shape their brows and contour their faces, I only know how to color my lips and apply powder to my face, lol.

However, there is a part of my body that adds confidence in myself, and that is my beautiful long black hair. At the very least, there is something lovely in my body, lol. My hair makes me feel good about myself for no apparent reason. Whatever I'm wearing or how I appear, my hair makes me feel positive and confident, especially when I'm walking in a crowd.

IMG_20230210_143557.jpg
But before I appreciated my hair, I despised it as a child because my mother used to cut it short with bangs, which lasted until I graduated from Primary Six. It became thick and frizzy as it grew longer, making me want to tie it most of the time. When hair rebonding became vague in my country, I tried it, as did many other women. However, the effect did not work well with my hair. It caused hair loss and made it thinner. Until then, I just let my hair grow naturally without using any hair treatments that might harm it.

The best thing about my hair is that, even though it is thinning due to stress and lack of sleep, it grows quickly. And for every strand I lose, a new healthier one grows. I was complimented on my beautiful hair several times. The more praise I receive, the more I appreciate it. And I like to keep it long because I can style it however I want. I could tie it up, do messy buns, braid it on occasion, or simply let it fall straight or wave it with my fingers.

IMG_20230211_130259.jpg


However, it's not really our physical attributes that make us beautiful, but our good character. Being open and optimistic are two positive traits that I consider to be my best.

I am an introvert who is open to everything, whether it is positive or negative because I can learn something from either side. I am a curious cat who enjoys learning new things. I have this personality that always wants to see the world in a different way. Probably because I get bored easily with the same things and being alone, and not to be stressed about those things I dislike. I want to do more adventure and enjoy the life that I deserve. I'm hoping that one day, not just this place, but the entire world I could explore.

Furthermore, I always see possibilities in everything, including seemingly impossible situations. Even though life is becoming more difficult by the day, I continue to believe that there are ways to overcome obstacles. I've been through a lot of darkness, but there's always light at the end of the tunnel. And I came a lot further than I expected, and that alone proves how resilient I am and how strong my faith is.

Well, we have no choice but to remain optimistic in the face of life's challenges anyway, or else, we'll be defeated. This determination of mine to positively change my life fuels my journey wherever I go, and keeps me motivated and positive regardless of the obstacles in my path. Because I believe those are important aspects to achieve whatever goal and desire we have in life.


This is in response to @galenkp's Weekend Engagement 140, and my chosen concept was:

The Ladies
What is your best physical feature and why, and what are your best two personality traits. Answer in at least 300 words and use photos you personally took if you can. (They don't have to be of yourself).

Happy weekend and stay positive 😊.
(All photos are mine)


FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCXDhCdbKLssUZHyzgV8BMivE5JBKjj6Z1mXGKEa2poFtSmgk8UUkkrURjvkmRJDTSPWo525rjc3ZyuTfsicGv3jrGn5u45Mc3UzoYhkXFZRSLN.webp

20230205_232024_0000.png

Join her on her quest for self-discovery and wanderlust. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, drop a comment, reblog, and follow for more wonderful adventures.

You can also reach me on my socials and let's be connected:

•Facebook
•YouTube
•Twitter
•read.cash
•noise.app

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
67 Comments
Ecency