The Bitcoin Dinner Party

Initiative by @galenkp

Here

Option 2

You are holding a dinner party and can invite any three people on the planet however none can be related to you, meaning family members. One of the invitees must be from history (deceased) - who do you invite and why?


img_4863.jpg

Image source

Image source

The Bitcoin Dinner Party

I adore mysteries. I’m a vulnerable sucker for legends and intriguing tales and I often get caught up doing research for days on end if something piques my fancy - I’ll find out everything there is to know. I’ll bore everyone around me with facts, fables and my own speculative theories.

So, if I could hold a dinner party to, possibly, solve one of the things that have been plaguing my mind, I would regard it as a gift. However, I do believe that I’d agonize for weeks before I came up with a guest list. But, after much thought I think I’d love to talk to Hal Finney, Nick Szabo and Craig Wright.

Why, well, why indeed?

To solve the curious case of Bitcoin - the identity of Satoshi Nakamoto.

Quite honestly a dinner party might not be the ideal function to reconnect these three people; I might need to hide the knives.(Haha) But, possible murder and mayhem aside, who wouldn’t like to solve this particular missing person case? After all, great thinkers have been applying themselves to this intrigue for the past thirteen years. Even Elon Musk has a possible candidate in mind; he thinks it’s Nick Szabo- hence his addition to my guest list.

Bitcoin and its original inception, the forging of the Genesis block and the innovative, “once-in-a-million-years” invention - an invention that has captured the hearts and minds (and wallets) of a generation, an invention that changed the world and finance as we know it; who wouldn’t want to know?

img_4859.jpg

Source

Craig Wright, the self-proclaimed Satoshi, is probably going to be my least favorite guest, but because of his high profile, continuous news-grabbing litigations and his (possible) claim to the Bitcoin billions, he might be interesting. I’m not a vindictive person but I’d be very, very keen to see if he squirms in the presence of the “mighty” Hal Finney. (Oh, my word this would be totally awesome)

img_4858.jpg

Source

Hal would be my favorite guest because he was the first cyberpunk to “receive” newly minted Bitcoins from Satoshi.(perhaps he gave them to himself)(I’d go out of my way to provide his preferred dessert, at least). Oh, my, the questions I would ask…the intrigue I would stir. Hal died in August of 2014, he categorically denied being Satoshi while he was alive, but if his ghost makes an entrance carrying the original “White Paper” I wouldn’t be surprised and what a dinner it would be then, hey?

Nick Szabo says he’s not Satoshi, but one would expect no less of the real claimant. I think Hal would be mad as hell if it’s not Craig Wright, but someone else and I think sparks would fly…

Of course, if it is Craig most of the fun would be lost because he’d own the Bitcoin billions. Currently, he’s suing the Bitcoin developers so that they help him to gain access to the billions, as, now, he says he’s lost his key/keys. (Here’s to hoping, sorry to be a b#@£&, but…)

The thing is that Craig might not “hold” these Bitcoin billions if he can lay his hands on them. If he sold these coins it could destroy the value of Bitcoin overnight. So if Hal points out Craig as Satoshi, you might need to lodge a kidnapping charge for the case of the missing Satoshi Nakomata.

Headlines would read -

“Satoshi Nakamoto kidnapped at a dinner party”

However, I do wonder if the cops will take you seriously...


Sources
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Steven_Wright

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hal_Finney_(computer_scientist)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency