The cheeky name change

Communities have been a great addition to hive as they allow people to place specific content in front of subscribers looking for it; They can be a great resource and can be regulated by the admins to ensure content placed there is community-oriented; That may result in a mute here or there, but that's required to keep the content on-point I suppose.

I founded three hive communities last year; Two of which are quite niche communities being THE PEW which is firearms, outdoors, survival, prepping, fishing, hunting and shooting sports related. The other is LEGO, clearly a community about that most awesome plastic construction block called Lego. Both are only used by specific people and haven't gained a huge amount of traction which is ok, I didn't expect them to.

The third community is Engage the Weekend.

I started it to provide people a place to drop posts about their weekend activities no matter what that happened to be.

Basically if the content has anything to do with the weekend it is suitable. I don't mean a post about an unrelated topic that someone could read on the weekend, but topics about things that happened, or will happen, thoughts about the weekend, events one is attending or attended, getaways, weekend DIY, or simply anything that relates to the weekend directly. Pretty much anything.

[Image removed]

When I started it I gave it a name of course and...Well, I haven't been loving the name at all. I even asked Faith my, always going to be honest with you, wife pictured above...She said, "yeah, I don't love the name at all, can't you change it?" I said no, because I didn't think I could, and that was that.

That was a couple weeks ago and I accepted the fact I'd founded a community with a name I didn't like. But last night I found out something miraculous and totally life-changing thanks to my younger brother @tarazkp...

I can indeed change the name of my community!

It was mind-blowing and the most joyous news. Ok, I wasn't that excited, but it was close.

I thought long and hard, for hours and hours, about what clever name I could devise for a community focused on content that relates to the weekend. Hmm, what could I call it? What could it be?

Several hours went by and then my wife said, in a cheeky tone, "just call it the weekend."

I looked at her as if she'd just said I can't have donuts with my coffee and said, what madness is this?!

"It's about the weekend, so call it, The Weekend. She said, with a cheeky grin.

It was pure genius...I never would have thought of that!

THE WEEKEND

It's quite simple really, for all its brilliance I mean. Seriously, the community is about the weekend and I renamed it THE WEEKEND. You see what she did there? I know, genius!

If you're looking for a place for your weekendy content then THE WEEKEND is ready-made for it. Just make sure your post has a weekend-related spin and you're good to go. Of course, you should check out the community rules just to make sure you know what's up, but otherwise just get on it.

THE WEEKEND is where I drop the #weekend-engagement topic post each Friday so that's where you'll need to go to check it out and get involved. If you don't know what I'm talking about just hit me up in the comments below and ask, I'll be happy to explain it.

This cheeky change is one I hope will make things clearer to people as to what THE WEEKEND community is all about and I hope to see you posting in there sometime if you feel inclined.

Oh, and if you don't like the name change you can blame Faith, it's all her fault! But seriously, I reckon she nailed it. What do you think?


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
55 Comments
Ecency