Simply Sunday

PA240018.JPG

Truth is ever to be found in simplicity, and not in the multiplicity and confusion of things.

Isaac Newton


I needed a simple day that flowed along seamlessly from one moment to the next, one with no complications in which I didn't have to do anything or think anything but that which I chose. I didn't wish for it as wishes don't often come true, but I made it happen and heading into the evening, looking back on the day, I'd say I nailed it.


I started the day by shooting some drugs into my system with a needle - Yep, I mean it. I've had a hiccup with my health and now, for some time at least, have to inject myself with medication that is supposed to help with the issue. Not one to like needles at the best of times you can probably imagine that having to give myself one doesn't make me too happy at all; I cowboyed the fuck up though and didn't even cry.

From there I headed out to the four wheel drive and adventure show which is held annually. This is the first held since the pandemic started though and I was keen to see the latest and greatest equipment and vehicles released in the last eighteen months. I arrived at the showgrounds with a whole bunch of others and wandered for about four hours looking at vehicles, off-road caravans, accessories and various bits and pieces that all revolve around off-roading and camping. It was pretty cool.

I ended up buying a couple little things and I'll probably do a post about it at some stage. I didn't spend very much money though; I'd planned on spending nothing of course but...You know, camping stuff.

I had a great time meandering about and caught up with a few people I know in the industry, had an impromptu lunch with a couple friends I ran into [hot dog, chips and coke]then headed out to the next stop for the day.

20211024_153323.jpg

Due to strong growth in my vegetable garden I had the need to stake some plants so headed to Bunnings for the bits and pieces I'd need. Whilst there I also grabbed a nice long pot and some herbs to start a small herb pot for near my kitchen. I'll do a post about it some time but you can see an image above taken today.

Bunnings is a massive hardware/tools/homewares/garden and building supplies warehouse and when I say massive I mean it. I go to Bunnings three to four times a week to look at something or grab some item or other I need for a handyman or gardening job around the house. I love it. They have a café too so coffee happens, a pie, pasty or sandwich and...Well, it's just pretty cool. Today I grabbed my stuff and headed home as I had a lot to do in the garden and was cooking later also so wanted to get stuck in.

This afternoon I staked up my tomatoes and apple cucumbers, nothing too professional mind just stakes and tie-wire which I think will do the job. I basically wanted to organise my tomatoes a little better, get some more light into them and help promote growth. I made up the herb pot also - I'll show you some time later.

20211024_162550.jpg

I did a little tidying up out there in the garden, removed some weeds then harvested some lettuce and spinach for a salad and parsley and coriander for a recipe. Whilst poking about found these little bad boys! They're dwarf beans and had escaped my notice until now. Cool right?

With the gardening done and my Sunday travelling along nicely I wanted to keep the momentum up so it was time to head inside to cook...After I smashed out a quick shower of course.

I'd planned burrito bowls, a burrito without the tortilla served in a bowl, but there was a burrito-bowl-ingredient malfunction so I made the spiced lentil patties instead; I served them with a side salad and some chicken. The patties are basically lentils, coriander, parsley, grated carrot and onion with some breadcrumbs, an egg, curry powder and cumin. Pretty simple stuff really, but really tasty. Simply combine, form into patties, dust with flour, fry three minutes each side then pop into a pre-heated oven at 180°C for ten minutes. It all went off without a hitch and I even did the cleaning up too. I know, I'm pretty special indeed right?


Today was the sort of day I needed to have; it was a simple Sunday but really enjoyable. I felt quite relaxed all day and even the little bit of work in the garden was a pleasure not a chore. The day was a little diverse as far as activities go but right about now I'm thinking it was pretty awesome and one I'd repeat next week given the chance.

I'll be holding the couch down for a while now with the intention of watching something on television - A movie, a series or documentary, who really knows. What's for certain is that I had a pretty nice day and I hope all of y'all also have a great Sunday as well.

Feel free to drop a comment below and tell me about what you did or what's on your agenda for Sunday. I hope it's as relaxing and enjoyable as mine.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

All images are my own, all taken today

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency