Opening Sunday's door

It gives you a good feeling. Each year, you rediscover in a garden the magic of life. A flower arrives, and it is a miracle. The leaves fall in the autumn, and it looks fantastic. There is a tenderness about a garden, and you can't help but be sensitive to that.

- Hubert de Givenchy -

xx291023_giGGyTT666 (5).jpg

I'm currently somewhere other than home doing something other than the normal stuff and working hard at it, as is my way; but as we all know, working hard needs a counter-balance and I work just as hard at finding relaxation and enjoyable life-moments when appropriate as I do at my professional life and on the weekends...let's just say that work gets put aside in preference for opening doors on other aspects of my life.



on Saturday night, I decided I'd open Sunday's door and step through into...the natural world by way of a couple of open gardens I'd tracked down in my current location; one was a private resident's garden and one a National Trust property and both were well worth the lengthy drive to get there. I actually visited a pretty cool country market in the same place, a very small country township, as well but when I planned to open Sunday's door I wanted to step into the natural world so my country market visit was short-lived, a quick whip around and then off to the gardens.

xx291023_giGGyTT666 (1).jpg

xx291023_giGGyTT666 (4).jpg

xx291023_giGGyTT666 (2).jpg

xx291023_giGGyTT666 (6).jpg



Both gardens had their appeal however I think the private garden appealed to me more; I guess I just really appreciated the effort and hard work that went into it, all undertaken by a couple in their late sixties; I know how much it takes to maintain a garden considering I do my own, so I applaud their efforts. That's not to say the National Trust property wasn't good, it surely was, but I'd expect it to be so considering the army of volunteers working on it each week. I don't want to pick favourites though and the overall winner was me anyway because I had such an enjoyable day. The images in this post are all from today.

What have you been up to over the weekend? Feel free to drop me a comment and let me know, or simply comment on this post in the way you feel appropriate.



Design and create your ideal life, tomorrow isn't promised - galenkp

[Original and AI free]
All images in this post are my own.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now