Go right...No, the other right

I've had a big day today, a long, tiresome and muscle-achingly strenuous day. No, I was not out out hiking, kayaking or walking for miles hunting...These things bring me pleasing levels of tight muscles and that just been in the wilderness tiredness that I like so much...Alas, today's tiredness comes from something far more mundane and boring; Moving stuff! That's right y'all, just moving. Stuff.

Today Faith and I moved house.

Ok full disclosure; We didn't move absolutely everything, but what we did move had us on it from 0700 to 1830 in the evening so pretty much all damned day!

I was planning to hire a truck and do the move all at once; I have a heavy vehicle license and it would have saved a lot of to and fro-ing but then I hatched a cunning plan to do it all using my box-trailer towed behind the big dog, my Landcruiser.

I'll admit that the cunning plan was conceived after seeing the cost of the truck hire. "Bugger that", I said to Faith, "we're using the trailer," I pronounced indignantly. For the record she wanted to use a house-moving company..."No no girl, we won't be having any of that", I said in my most manly voice.

So off we went, trailer in tow, to move house.

Faith and I are pretty capable people - We're both physically fit and today's move was only about five kilometres away from home so we figured we'd do a few loads back and forth and be done by lunch. Easy as that.

By lunch time that plan was thrown out the window and we were hoping we'd be done before it got dark at 2100! Yes, it took longer than expected, but you saw that coming right?

It all went pretty smoothly though, no walls got dented, nothing got broken and there was only one moment of frustration. I was just telling @meesterboom on Discord about it...

There we were carrying my office desk, a fairly long sort of thing that required some manoeuvring to get from my office to the hall and out the door to the trailer - The aim was to do it without denting anything, dropping it on feet or breaking the thing in half.

I always go backwards when carrying things, Faith doesn't seem to be able to do it and I'm a backwards kind of guy most of the time - It comes naturally. We got to this point between the office and the hallway, where we had to do some fancy moves and I said to Faith, "can you move it to your right?"...She goes left. "No no, your other right," I said rather patiently.

It wasn't a big deal and we worked around it. The frustration came when it happened again. Then again, and once more to top it all off. Fortunately for my patience the left/right confusion didn't all happen one after the other; She got her left and right mix-ups spaced out nicely over the day.

Over all that's not too bad right? Or do I mean left? I'm getting bloody confused myself now! That's about the worst frustration of the day. I'd say that's pretty acceptable.


Faith and I aren't ones to rely on others; We don't like to ask people for help when we can do things ourselves and we are pretty independent people in most aspects of life. It's not that we're too proud to ask, we just don't like imposing on people. It means we sometimes have to work hard, accept a few aching muscles and the fact that it may take us a little longer to get a thing done; But get it done eventually, like today.

Right now Faith is soaking in the bath listening to some music; It's 2250 and we're pretty tired but satisfied with what we got done today. Should I have used professionals? Yes, probably...Did I save $800? You know it! Sure, I have a few scrapes, sore muscles and they'll stick around for a few days, but I didn't have a bad day - Doing things with Faith, spending time, even moving house, is always valuable to me and we get to look back on it with the understanding that we did it together.

Have you guys ever moved house and done it yourself? Did you use a removal company and have a great experience, or a horrible one? I have heard some doosies over the years about hose-moving...Have you got a story to share?


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
33 Comments
Ecency