G-dog's Sunday gardenisationing

“A garden to walk in and immensity to dream in–what more could he ask? A few flowers at his feet and above him the stars.”

Victor Hugo


A few flowers at his feet and above him the stars, seems to me a very beautiful way to describe the simplicity in life I seek. As a simple complicated man that seeks simplicity in life, easy-moments, clarity and a central place from which to just simply be it speaks to me; the entire quote above does in fact. Add in that special one, you know, the one whose eyes see right inside, and I think I'd be very content right about now.

Today I found some of those simple moments; my hands in the earth, sunshine warming my back and fresh air in my lungs - Beautiful moments? Hmm, lets just say calming, soothing and deeply satisfying. Working with my hands does that to me, satisfies me, and no matter what they happen to be touching they do so with passion.


I had a list of chores I'd set myself this Sunday and first was finish the raised garden beds. I'm looking forward to getting started with planting them out with some vegetables but getting the soil in and ready has to happen first so I deployed on mission buy-soil this morning with the intention of nothing getting in the way of the plan.

20210829_111533-COLLAGE (1).jpg

I saddled up the Big Dog and headed out to one of the best garden nurseries my State has to offer, Virginia Home Garden, which isn't too far away from home. I had my trailer hooked up and as the Big Dog stretched it's twin-turbo V8-powered legs I felt good about the mission, and the day ahead.

I had a chat with one of the chaps out there, a Saffer from Johannesburg, and between us we decided on the right way to go. I purchased 30x 25L bags of garden soil, 6x 25L bags of chicken manure and 2x 70L bags of organic mulch. $221AUD and a little bit of effort loading them up later and I was on my way. To this I'll add some worms and condition with Seasol, a seaweed solution, and before long - Veggies everywhere! Mission success: Soil acquired.

Big Dog carried me home and gardenisationing began.

20210829_120520_2-COLLAGE.jpg

The actual gardenisationing wasn't all that complicated, I'll admit. Take soil from trailer, put in VegePods, mix in other goodies, add worms and done. It was enjoyable though, in a I'll be eating my own veggies soon sort of way. It made all that lifting easier to accept. No I'm not a girly-man, I just have some back issues now and then and at the moment it's a now-moment; I'm in a lot of pain right now but nothing pills can't deal with. I guess a life of doing all those things I probably should not have done hasn't helped the back thing - I executed the mission nonetheless - I'm not one to let much get in the way when I want something or something to happen.

20210829_132606_2.jpg

20210829_132748.jpg

20210829_134310.jpg

I decided to mix some worms into the actual soil along with the chicken manure and with the addition of the Seasol mixture my veggies should have most of what they need. I'll tweak it as I go and as crops fail or succeed - That's just part of the enjoyment factor.

I'm not expecting to eliminate the need to shop for vegetables, these VegePods only give me four square metres of garden after all; I'm expecting satisfaction through growing a thing or two and some enjoyment in the process however.

It's been a good little journey so far and I'm getting close to planting the beds out although I want to plumb-in the two sprinkler systems so I only need to turn on the tap once before I do plant out. I've got the stuff to do so but I think I'll get that done tomorrow after work. I might even get some plants too! The really exciting part!

20210829_134357-COLLAGE.jpg

So, my Sunday is winding down right now, at least the outdoor aspect is.

I had a great day doing stuff out there today though and moved operation veggie garden forward. I'm really happy with these VegePods so far and hope they live up to their reputation. I did a post about putting them together last week so if you want to take a look at the VegePods post follow that link back there. 👈

I hope ya'll have had a great weekend so far and you get something productive done...Or just laze around and relax Just do it with passion folks - No reason not to.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

All images are my own.


Some of today's tracks:

Ecstasy
Wrong side of heaven
Castaway
Lost on you
You & I

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
44 Comments
Ecency