Cleanup and recycling weekend [ENG/ESP]


(Abajo está la versión en español)

Last week and last weekend itself was full of a lot of activity, but that doesn't mean I didn't have fun, on the contrary, I had a lot of fun.

The theme of this post is cleaning and recycling and I'll explain why. If you take a look at my blog, you will notice that I like to make sculptures and crafts; therefore, I set out to participate in a contest in which I had to make a figure or art using electronic pieces. I wanted to participate, but the moment I went to the room I use as storage, I found that I had a big mess there; baskets full of pieces of all kinds of appliances everywhere, computer drawers piled up and wires here and wires there. It was obvious that before working, I needed to clean up.

I had little time to clean during the week, so I spent all day Friday cleaning the room. I found a lot of things that were certainly junk, like old gadgets that didn't work and were practically impossible to repair, so there was a lot that I threw away; however, there were a lot of things that I salvaged for, of course, recycling.

One of the first baskets I went through was one where I had stored a bunch of old keyboards and damaged DVD and Bluy-Ray players. Some I simply threw away, but in the case of the keyboards, some I kept again because they still worked and quality keyboards here in my country are not cheap, so it would not be wise to throw them away. If I threw something away it is because it had no use.

Another thing I came across was a lot of cables. Here in my country cables are very expensive and sometimes scarce, so I have stored around a few meters of cables for both electricity and computer cables. I did find a few that were no longer useful because the plastic covering the cable was brittle, something that can cause failures in the electrical installations for which they are used, so I simply removed the plastic and kept the copper cable to make crafts with it.

Below is a picture of a basket with a few electrical and computer devices, but this picture is only referential because I had at least two more baskets of devices like this. Why? Because I work repairing computers, so I get a lot of computer equipment and sometimes people don't pick up the equipment, they just hand it to me for repair but never come to pick it up. When that happens I keep the parts, so I have enough, but there are more that are damaged than those that still works, mostly because of how old they are. From these baskets I managed to rescue some parts that still work and I discarded a whole basket of equipment that is completely damaged.

Another of the things that I usually save are the electrical cards of some electronic devices, since some of them have components that can be used to repair other equipment. For example, a computer motherboard may have capacitors that still work and can be useful to repair a television. Why do I keep them? Because some spare parts are not always available in specialized stores, and if they are found, they are very expensive. In this case I did have a single basket with cards and circuits. I discarded a few that were no longer useful, but cleaned others and put them away again.

After the cleaning, came the recycling. The intention was to make a few figurines with these recycled materials. It was obvious that not all the electronic devices I had could be used to make the figurines, as many were useful for work, so I searched through the things I planned to throw away and from there I extracted enough material to make the figurines.

Making figures with recycled material of this type is difficult, because it is not fabric that you can mold in any way you want, no, they are rigid pieces of iron that only fit somehow with other pieces, so you must be ingenious to create something with these pieces; however, I managed to make three figures that surprised even myself.

The first thing I made was a small crab with parts taken from small mixer motors and tiny capacitors. I thought it was too simple for the contest, but I still kept it around as an ornament for the house.

Keeping in mind that I wanted to make something of higher quality, I decided on a dragon. I made it with aluminum wire that I took out of a transformer and used the blades of a small motor, the same ones I used to make the pincers and legs of the crab above. I did like it, because it did look like a dragon but it still seemed simple for the contest...

So there I was, in the middle of Saturday morning, with my two figurines made and a pile of appliance pieces around me, I set out to make something big because I was not satisfied with the previous figures. My mom always told me as a kid that if I was going to do something, I better do it right. It's not that the figures I made before weren't well done, no; the crab and dragon figures were nice, but being honest with myself, I knew I could do better, so with that in mind, I came up with the idea of making a mechagodzilla.

Below is the mechagodzilla I made:

It was the figure I ended up submitting for the contest but I don't plan to go into too much detail on this one because I already did a full post detailing the step by step of that figure, which I finished early Sunday morning at about 3 AM, almost 4 AM. It's a bad project if you have to get up early on Monday to work....

You can read the mechagodzilla post by following this link:
@gaboamc2393/electronic-world-my-participation-in-the-contest-mechagodzilla-engesp

Unfortunately I was late for the contest and didn't manage to submit the work on time, but I still feel satisfied with the figure because I know it was the best I could do; at least so far, because I don't know what else I will think of doing later....

Below are a few photos of the dragon taking on the mechagodzilla. They both look great:

Well friends of the weekend, that's it for now. As I said at the beginning of the post, it was a busy weekend, but I won't deny that I had a lot of fun, like I haven't had in a long time. I hope you liked this post, or at least that it helps you to recharge your batteries for the rest of the week. I'll say goodbye then...

See you next time!



*****Versión en español*****


La semana pasada y el mismo fin de semana pasado estuvo cargado de mucha actividad, pero esto no significa que no me divertí, todo lo contrario, me divertí en gran manera.

El tema de esta publicación es el de limpieza y reciclaje y ya les explicaré por qué. Si le dan un vistazo a mi blog, se darán cuenta que me gusta hacer esculturas y manualidades; por lo tanto, me dispuse a participar en un concurso en el que se debía hacer alguna figura o un arte usando piezas electrónicas. Quería participar, pero al momento de ir a la habitación que uso como depósito, me encontré con que tenía un gran desastre ahí; cestas repletas de piezas de todo tipo de electrodomésticos por todos lados, cajones de computadoras apilados y cables por aquí y cable por allá. Era evidente que antes de trabajar, debía limpiar.

Poco tiempo tenía para ponerme a limpiar durante la semana, así que me ocupé todo el viernes para limpiar la habitación. Me encontré con muchas cosas que ciertamente eran basura, como viejos aparatos que no funcionaban y era prácticamente imposible de reparar, así que fue mucho lo que deseché; sin embargo, hubo muchas cosas que rescate para, desde luego, reciclar.

Una de las primeras cestas que revisé fue una en donde había guardado un montón de teclados viejos y lectores DVD y Bluy-Ray dañados. Algunos simplemente los deseché, pero en el caso de los teclados, algunos los guardé nuevamente porque aún funcionaban y los teclados de calidad aquí en mi país no son baratos, así que no sería sensato desecharlos. Si deseché algo es porque no tenía ninguna utilidad.

Otra de las cosas con las que me encontré fue con un montón de cables. Aquí en mi país los cables son muy caros y en ocasiones escasos, así que tengo guardados por ahí unos cuantos metros de cables tanto para electricidad como cables para equipos de computación. Sí encontré unos cuantos que ya no servían porque el plástico que cubre el cable estaba quebradizo, algo que puede ocasionar fallas en las instalaciones eléctricas para las que se usen, así que simplemente les quité el plástico y guardé el cable de cobre para hacer manualidades con este.

Abajo está una foto de una cesta con unos cuantos artefactos eléctricos y de computación, pero esta fotografía es solo referencial porque tenía al menos dos cestas más de artefactos como este. ¿Por qué? Porque yo trabajo reparando computadoras, así que recibo muchos equipos informáticos y en ocasiones las personas no retiran el equipo, simplemente me lo entregan para que lo repare pero nunca vienen a buscarlo. Cuando eso pasa yo conservo las piezas, así que tengo bastante, pero son más las que estan dañadas que las que aún funciona, más que todo por lo viejas que son. De estas cestas logré rescatar algunas piezas que aún funcionan y deseché una cesta completa de equipos que están completamente dañados.

Otra de las cosas que acostumbro a guardar son las tarjetas eléctricas de algunos artefactos electrónicos, ya que algunas tienen componentes que pueden servir para reparar otro equipo. Por ejemplo, una tarjeta madre de un computador puede tener condensadores que aún funcionan y que pueden ser útiles para reparar un televisor. ¿Por qué los guardo? Porque en las tiendas especializadas no siempre se consiguen algunos repuestos, y si se encuentran, son muy caros. En este caso sí tenía una única cesta con tarjetas y circuitos. Deseché unas cuantas que ya no eran de utilidad, pero limpie otras y las guardé otra vez.

Después de la limpieza, vino el reciclaje. La intención era hacer unas cuantas figuritas con estos materiales reciclados. Era evidente que no todos los aparatos electrónicos que tenía podía usarlos para hacer las figuras, pues muchos eran de utilidad para trabajar, así que busqué entre las cosas que planeaba desechar y de ahí extraje bastante material para hacer las figuritas.

Hacer figuras con material reciclado de este tipo es difícil, porque no es tela que puedes moldear de la forma que quieras, no, son piezas rígidas de hierro que solo calzan de alguna manera con otras piezas, así que debes ser ingenioso para lograr crear algo con estas piezas; sin embargo, logré tres figuras que me sorprendieron incluso a mi mismo.

Lo primero que hice fue un pequeño cangrejo con piezas extraídas de pequeños motores de batidoras y condensadores pequeñitos. Me pareció algo muy simple para el concurso, pero aún así lo conservé por ahí para dejarlo como un adorno para la casa.

Teniendo presente que deseaba hacer algo de mayor calidad, me decidí por un dragón. Lo hice con alambre de aluminio que extraje de un transformador y usé las láminas de un pequeño motor, las mismas con las que hice las tenazas y piernitas del cangrejo de arriba. Sí me gustó, pues sí parecía un dragón pero aún me seguía pareciendo simple para el concurso...

Allí pues, en plena mañana del sábado, con mis dos figuritas hechas y un montón de piezas de electrodomésticos a mi alrededor, me dispuse a hacer algo grande porque no me sentía satisfecho con las figuras anteriores. Mi mamá siempre me decía de niño que si iba a hacer algo, mejor hacerlo bien. No es que las figuras que hice antes no estuviesen bien hechas, no; estaban bonitas las figuras del cangrejo y del dragón, pero siendo honesto conmigo mismo, sabía podía hacerlo mejor, así que con eso en mente, se me ocurrió hacer un mechagodzilla.

A continuación el mechagodzilla que hice:

Fue la figura que terminé presentando para el concurso pero no pienso extenderme mucho en esta porque ya hice un post completo detallando el paso a paso de esa figura, la cual terminé el domingo en la madrugada, a eso de las 3 AM, casi las 4 AM. Es un mal proyecto si tienes que levantarte temprano el lunes para trabajar...

Puedes leer el post del mechagodzilla siguiendo este enlace:
@gaboamc2393/electronic-world-my-participation-in-the-contest-mechagodzilla-engesp

Lamentablemente llegué tarde para el concurso y no logré presentar el trabajo a tiempo, pero aún así me siento satisfecho con la figura porque sé que fue lo mejor que pude hacer; al menos hasta ahora, porque no sé qué otra cosa se me ocurrirá hacer más adelante...

A continuación unas cuantas fotos del dragón enfrentando al mechagodzilla. Se ven geniales los dos:

Bien amigos del fin de semana, esto ha sido todo por ahora. Como dije al comienzo de la publicación, fue un fin de semana cargada de mucha actividad, pero no voy a negar que me divertí mucho, como no lo hacía en mucho tiempo. Espero que esta publicación les haya gustado o que, cuando menos, les sirva para recargar las baterías para lo que resta de semana. Me despido entonces...

¡Hasta la próxima!




Imagenes editadas con Photoshop
Fotos tomadas con tablet HP stream 7
Traducido con DeepL
Photos edited with Photoshop
Photos taken with HP stream 7 tablet
Translated with DeepL

Últimos tres post/Last three posts:
Electronic World: My participation in-the contest - Mechagodzilla
Sculpture #4: Travel companion / Escultura #4: Compañero de viaje
Weekend in my vegetable garden, one month later!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency