The Weekends I wished To Never End

Some says a child do not have to worry about anything other than to eat and play. But I think part of my childhood was way more fun than that

There were times I spent with my dad that I never wish to end. My dad is the kind of man a child will wish to always have around.

There was this time, my mom had to travel for a very long period to spend time with my grandma. My grandma was very old and sick and since we can not bring her to the farm where we stayed, she had to go and be with her. I was just three years old, I love my mom very much but I never wanted to be away from my dad not even for a day,we had this bond that is beyond everyone's imagination. The only time I will be separated from him was if he had to go on a few days journey, which I would missed him so much and would be eager to have him back again.

Even for the fact that I'm a girl, that did not stopped me from following him around.

So, I was asked to either travel with mom or stay with dad, being such a little girl everyone thought I will travel with mom but to their surprise I choose to stay with dad.


With tears in her eyes, she was worried how I was going to cope without her around, but when I insisted of not going with her, my dad told her that I will be fine that she should not worry, so she left.

Every morning , my dad would carry me on his bicycle to the farm. At the farm was the kind of fun I could never get from any anywhere else. Reason why I refused to travel with mom hehehe.

My dad would put a little pillow at the middle of the bicycle for me to seat while I hold the front iron with my two hands. sweet old days
robert-bye-tG36rvCeqng-unsplash.jpgImage Source


He would made a well prepared roasted chicken by taking one of his chicken from the farm, those are days his trap did not catch any game. Enough trees to climb and played couples with fruits such as bananas, orange and pineapple to go with the meat, I was truly pleased and happy.
I so much enjoyed watching him and my elder brother do the farm works and I would tried to participate as much and little as I can until I get tired. He would laid me on a mat in between ridges for me to sleep till it is time for us to go back home.

This was mostly my life until one year past by, my mum came back and it was time for me to join my elder brother to start schooling. The nearby school was located about an hour thirty minutes journey by trekking. Because of the distance I would leave home with my elder brother, we would stay with a relative then comes back to spend the weekend with my parents.

This was hard and heartbroken for me, but my dad convinced me of how important going to school is to my future and promised to always make it up to me every weekends.

Every week I looked forward to the weekend as I knew I would have a lot of goodies from dad. This was what kept me going because leaving home for a whole week was always very though for me.

The weekend would come and I would be so happy going back home to my parents.

So, this weekend engagement topic was asking us;

If you had the ability to stop time (and remain there) which year, moment, event or era would you choose, and why?


If I had the ability to stop time and stay in those weekend moment , I would gladly do that, as I always wished those weekends never ends.

Sometimes I do shed tears when it was Sunday and it was time for me to leave them behind.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency