WEEKEND-ENGAGEMENT 215: CELEBRATING ONE AND A HALF DECADE (15 YEARS) OF PLAYING KEYBOARD 🎹🎵

As a young boy many years ago, one of the greatest thing i have learnt which is still with me and has been useful and instrumental to me is learning how to play the electric keyboard one and half a decade ago. As a young Church boy whose brother was a keyboardist in the Church, my passion grew more and more to learn how to play the electric keyboard. I began learning the keyboard by firstly learning the rudiments of music and i believed this was helpful to have a solid background of music, keyboard playing and in relating with other instrumentalist, musicians, singers, artiste and all.

Learning keyboard was a bit challenging as i have no personal keyboard to learn and practice, i had to make do with going to Church for rearshals even as i have access to it been a choirister. My first experience of playing the keyboard in a congregational arrangement was during a Sunday morning service where no one is available has most of the instrumentalists have resumed back to the different institutions of learning where they were students. I was called upon though fearful and shaky, i manage play and that marks the begining for me. From then till now, it has been from good to better even as i learn and rearshe more as there is no end to learning.

One of the remarkable moment for me was when i was admitted to the University and there i joined a campus based Christian fellowship where I'm privileged to be among the instrumentalist and later the instrumentalist coordinator. It was awesome meeting and playing with different instrumentalists and keyboardists from different backgrounds as i really learnt from them especially contemporary music. In year 2019, i bought my first keyboard which was during my professional internship period. This keyboard has really been of help to me to score songs, rearshe and to improve myself. Indeed, no perfection without rearshals.

True knowledge is reproducible and transferred. I had the privilege to train and raise people on how to play an electric keyboard with a manual compiled by me which is well detailed. Another major highlight for me in this one and a half decade of playing keyboard was when i observed the mandatory one year of national service in my country where i joined and played in a Church for those period and even in the Christian lodge i stayed during fellowship activities. Up until now, I'm still playing, still learning and getting better. Last year, i joined the Hive platform and one of my major niche is Music where i have put entry to weekly community releases from @hiveopenmic, @Afritunes @Vibes @Musiczone @hivelearners community. It was an honour and a privilege to be a spotlight artiste in @hiveopenmic about 2 weeks ago.

Here on hive platform, i have met and been inspired by wonderful set of musicians and those who promote and encourage the course of music like @Jesuslnrs @Lordbutterfly @jesus-son @mamab @wallay and many others numerous to be mentioned. It has been a journey of sacrifice, consistency, passion in my music journey and i believe there are better days ahead. It is good to follow one's passion and keep at it, sooner or later it will be worth it. I'm still actively playing, learning, rearshing despite my engagement as a healthcare professional and a family man. Music is great and playing keyboard is awesome. I want to use this medium to appreciate all my teachers, mentors and those who has gone ahead and given their best to music. Thank you for reading even as comments, contributions and suggestions are welcomed.


ALL PICTURES WERE TAKEN BY ME THUMBNAIL DESIGNED USING CANVA

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency