My Romance With A Country-Boy!


A photo of me taken three years ago.

Classical music, country music or rock and roll, what's your preference and why?

In the stillness of the night, with the soft glow of the Moon and Stars illuminating the inside of the hut I shared with my Grandma, I would let his soothing melodies carry me away into a peaceful sleep. His bass-baritone voice captivated me no end, with every strum of his guitar, I got totally sold out and never recovered.

Don Williams, the humble country boy from Texas, USA, won my heart when I was just nine years old, a curious and wide-eyed little girl living in the countryside. It was his voice and his guitar that had me hooked initially, then as I grew older, I understood the beautiful lyrics better, each song a tale woven around love, its magic and its aches, love in its purest and sincerest form, heartbreak in its painful and hurtful template.

He was as special as the music he played, eventually shaping my perception about love and those vivid pictures in my mind inspired creativity in me, my pen freely flowed in poetic verses, nurtured by my deepened understanding of his music as time went by.

Love and heartbreak poetry became my genre and I would express my feelings as I felt them and when the aches came, we became a kindred spirit, Don and I. He was just a Country boy and I was just a Country girl so the deal was sealed, then started my romance with Country boy/ Country music. He taught me love and to love sincerely, with Silver in the Skies and Gold in the Morning Sun, under his heartfelt lyrics, 'You Are My Best Friend', I learnt to navigate through life's ardous journey in the comfort of genuine friends. 'I Believe In Love', because I saw it through his beautiful heart and when I was broken from loving, when I thought 'Some Broken Hearts Never Mend', 'In The Shelter Of Your Eyes' and 'Love Me Over Again', came to my rescue.

His songs became an Opium for my heartbreaks and the heartbeat of every of my Love relationship, it would often speak to my varied experiences, awakening or comforting.

So now you know where I'm at! Country music remains my preference even after decades have come and gone. Of course I listen to rock'n'roll and the classics every now and then but my heart would always beat for Country music.

These are just a few of the notable songs by Don Williams, You can check them out at your leisure;

"You're My Best Friend", "Tulsa Time", "I Believe in You", "Lord, I Hope This Day Is Good", "Good Ole Boys Like Me", "Amanda", "Some Broken Hearts Never Mend", "If Hollywood Don't Need You (Honey, I Still Do)", "It Must Be Love", "Lay Down Beside Me", "Love Me Over Again", "I Wouldn't Want to Live If You Didn't Love Me", "The Shelter of Your Eyes", "Back in My Younger Days", "Say It Again"

These timeless classics croon from my stereo everyday. Each song has carved a place in my heart because they have shaped my emotions, and consequently my life.

Don Williams might not be in this realm anymore but his rich baritone voice and the heartfelt sincerity portrayed in his songs, would forever make him a revered figure in the world of country music.

The Photo is mine.

Thank you @galenkp for the provoking prompt.

I am @edith-4angelseu and thank you for stopping by my neighbourhood.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency