This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Melodies And Memories!

This post is in response to one of @galenkp's prompts;

What song (just one) brings a tear to your eye, and what song (just one) makes you feel happy and uplifted? Explain why in each case. Remember to use your own photos.


It is challenging for me to respond to such a question because I have quite a number of songs that evoke joy or sadness in their extremities, many of which are by my favorite artist, Don Williams, and others crafted by equally talented songwriters. These melodies have the power to make me cry , no, weep!

One of such songs, "It Must Have Been Love" by Roxette captivated me years ago when I watched the movie "Pretty Woman," starring Richard Gere and Julia Roberts. It was featured as one of the soundtracks in that blockbuster film. The song deeply resonated with me, bringing me to tears the first time I heard it, and continues to do so even more now. It's powerfully emoted and speaks to the ongoing inner conflict within me. It's one of the few R$B songs I have on my playlist as it explores the themes of love and loss, the sadness that comes with "Loosing in Love".
I just needed to hear it play to reach out for my white handkerchief...😥

I think crying helps the aching heart mend, the pent-up emotions which could be overwhelming, finds release and then one feels better afterwards.


The lyrics

Must have been love
But it's over now
Lay a whisper on my pillow
Leave the winter on the ground
I wake up lonely, this air of silence
In the bedroom and all around
Touch me now, I close my eyes
And dream away
It must have been love, but it's over now
It must have been good, but I lost it somehow
It must have been love, but it's over now
From the moment we touched, 'til the time had run out
Make-believing we're together
That I'm sheltered by your heart
But in and outside I turn to water
Like a teardrop in your palm
And it's a hard winter's day
I dream away
It must have been love, but it's over now
It was all that I wanted, now I'm living without
It must have been love, but it's over now
It's where the water flows
It's where the wind blows
It must have been love, but it's over now
It must have been good, but I lost it somehow
It must have been love, but it's over now
From the moment we touched, 'til the time had run out
Yeah, it must have been love, but it's over now
It was all that I wanted, now I'm living without
It must have been love, but it's over now
It's where the water flows
It's where the wind blows
but it's over now
No, no, no
(It must have been love)
(But it's over now) but it's over now
No, no, no

Heres a link to listen if you wish;

"I Can See Clearly Now" by Johnny Nash, among other timeless tunes, has been a source of solace for me, resonating deeply throughout my life. After my divorce, my ex refused to provide child support, and despite my efforts, I grew weary of battling in court. He doubted my ability to care for our young children, aged six and eight at the time. This reggae-pop song became my steadfast companion as I emerged from a toxic relationship, and tried rebuilding my life from the scratch.
Where everyone saw Dark Clouds, I could only see Blue Skies and Sunshiny Days ahead.

His desire to see me fail became a relentless driving force.


I can see clearly now the rain is gone
I can see all obstacles in my way
Gone are the dark clouds that had me blind
It's gonna be a bright (bright)
Bright (bright) sunshiny day
It's gonna be a bright (bright)
Bright (bright) sunshiny day
Oh, yes I can make it now the pain is gone
All of the bad feelings have disappeared
Here is that rainbow I've been praying for
It's gonna be a bright (bright)
Bright (bright) sunshiny day
look all around, there's nothing but blue skies
Look straight ahead, there's nothing but blue skies
I can see clearly now the rain is gone
I can see all obstacles in my way
Here is that rainbow I've been praying for
It's gonna be a bright (bright)
Bright (bright) sunshiny day
It's gonna be a bright (bright)
Bright (bright) sunshiny day
Bri-ri-ri-ri', bright, (bright)
Bright (bright) sunshiny day, yeah, eh
It's gonna be a bright (bright)
Bright (bright) sunshiny day
It's gonna be a bright (bright)
Bright (bright) sunshiny day, yeah, na
It's gonna be a bright (bright)
Bright (bright) sunshiny day
Bri-ri-ri-ri', bright (bright)
Bright (bright) sunshiny...

You can listen if you wish;

I can't say it has been easy navigating through life with these two.... but the most beautiful thing is that by resilience, determination, hardwork and Grace, they have turned out relatively well, and today I can sing along with Johnny Nash;

It's gonna be a bright sunshiny day!

Thank you @galenkp for this opportunity given to travel on a soul searching journey.


I am @edith-4angelseu and thank you for stopping by my neighbourhood.