Weekend Experience: The Euthanasia Syndrome

Euthanasia, ending the life of an ill human to limit suffering, is a very contentious issue. What are your thoughts?


The first thought that came to my mind when I fell critically ill early this year was dying. The pain and discomfort was so much that nothing seemed pleasant to me, and all I wanted at that moment was to be relieved of that pain in whatever means that was possible. But once I regained my health, I appreciated the fact that I'm still alive to enjoy the beauty of the world.

In that moment of my distress, I wasn't afraid of death, I felt it was alright to die if it could end my suffering and this shows the cost at which humans could desire comfort. Sometimes this desire comes because death seems like the nearest comfort to the days of suffering one has to endure before medicine starts to have its effect. Even though I've had this thought in the past, I'm strongly against euthanasia, we're not givers of life while then should we end one's free gift.

Photo Source

I've heard of people who went through euthanasia and I've heard of people who made a lifetime impact lying on their sick bed before they died. What differentiates them is that one made an impact and the other did not. One of these people wrote a hymn song that's sung today titled "shall I go empty handed". Even though he's dead, his last words still speak to the living. I believe the breath that gives life is a free gift from our creator and if anyone should cut it short, it should be the gifter himself. It might seem legal but ending anyone's life is still a murder no matter how one may paint it.

There's a saying that goes "Destiny can only be delayed but not denied". Imagine the destiny that might have been cut short in the practice of euthanasia, most illness does not result in death, in the act of ending one's pain or suffering, we might be the author of his death, thereby denying someone a future he might have lived to enjoy. If euthanasia becomes a syndrome, then the medical profession would have no relevance nor would anyone be given the opportunity to struggle between life and death.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency