Weekend in the Chinatown of Buenos Aires.

DSC_0677.jpg

This weekend I was with my family visiting the Chinatown in Buenos Aires, I have been there many times but I had never brought my camera, apart from going for a walk and eating something I had the intention of doing some photography exercises with the light of that place. There are actually two Chinatowns, the old one that they opened first and the modern Chinatown that they opened recently. We visited the last one.

We didn't go to a particular place but we wanted to try some different food places, Among these we tried the "Korean Pancho"... In Argentina the Hot Dog is called Pancho, and it is curious that being the Chinatown we are trying Korean food. This is normal here since they also sell a lot of Japanese food, so it is not 100% a Chinatown.

We tried some desserts too, such as waffle cones and waffle bruchettes filled with chocolate, very delicious by the way.

DSC_0696.jpg

DSC_0689.jpg

DSC_0688_1.jpg

The place and each restaurant had a quite striking decoration even some could be considered romantic. Another place we visited was a restaurant specializing in Ramen, there was a machine that dipped noodles into a giant bowl.... An attractive advertisement.

Near the area there was also a 2D restaurant, a quite unique design in the neighborhood and eye-catching, just take a picture of this place.

DSC_0676.jpg

DSC_0684.jpg

DSC_0695.jpg

She is our girl, I wanted to take a photo of her unawares but with her it is almost impossible to do it 😅

One of the photography exercises that I had planned to do here was to portray the landscapes, places and people taking advantage of the type of light or lighting, There are many LED light signs, this light is reflected on the streets and people. With this I wanted to achieve a cinematic style in the editing, I don't know if I achieved this but I liked the tones in these shots.

DSC_0662 (1).jpg

DSC_0672.jpg

Another of the many dishes or desserts we ate, I don't even remember exactly what this one was about 😅😅

DSC_0651_1.jpg

I think this was one of the waiters from some food establishment and downstairs a delivery man waiting for your order to make the delivery.

DSC_0679 (1).jpg

I decided to carry a single lens with my camera, the 50mm and I used mostly an aperture of f1.8, the maximum ISO was 3200, I made some adjustments in Lightroom to eliminate some noise in the images. So all these photos were without flash, I was trying to capture other people's passage through this anguished street in modern Chinatown.

My son and I are Dragon Ball fans and luckily we found a candy store that sold sodas with some of these anime characters, Of course we decided to buy one with Vegito 😄 there were many more drinks from other animes and characters.

DSC_0671.jpg

DSC_0657_1.jpg

DSC_0656_1 (1).jpg

DSC_0654_1 (1).jpg

There is always a lot of activity in this place, it is never empty even if it is a work week day and you can also get "normal" things to eat, such as pizza.

DSC_0664.jpg

DSC_0674.jpg

I loved this place because of its LED lights and screens 👇🏻

DSC_0666.jpg

DSC_0659_1.jpg

I share here four extra shots of this modern Chinatown, I couldn't miss a couple of beers while walking from one place to another trying these dishes.

After trying these lights I could possibly return to work on a portrait session with a model, it could be a little interesting. I hope you liked these photos or the place. Have a great Sunday and a great start to the week tomorrow. All the best to you guys!

DSC_0663.jpg

DSC_0687 (1).jpg

DSC_0681.jpg

DSC_0658_1.jpg


That's all folks! Thanks for stopping by and appreciating.


"Photography is a universal language that transcends the barriers of culture and time." Fan-Ho.

Picsart_23-06-14_15-32-40-829.jpg

Copyright © by @dimascastillo90 All rights reserved, 2024.
Find out about my Street and Boudoir photography works.
Street Photographer | 🇻🇪 VEN based in ARG 🇦🇷

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency