Homelessness is my life's independence

Due to a lack of time, I was quite disappointed that I couldn't write and take part in the two consecutive weekends-engagements. My excitement stems from reading about this week's weekend engagement, which was started by sir @galenkp, the community admin for Weekend Experiences. After reading a few of the entries, I found them all to be fascinating. Their blogs' creativity and quality of writing are clear to see. A truly interesting and lively community.

An image edited in Canva. The original image was from Unsplash by Dimi Katsavaris.

This time, three concepts are provided, and each topic includes a unique set of questions. These are genuinely fascinating ideas because they are simpler to write about, but you must undoubtedly apply your original creativity. The Homeless Weekend, the second item on the list, is what I personally selected. It has the following question that states,


“You are homeless for the weekend in a strange city with no family or friends to assist you - You have no money, and no possessions - just the clothes on your back. What do you do and why? Write at least 350 words to explain your thoughts, decisions, and actions.”


My class was let out for the day at that time. My mother prompted me to visit Pampanga, the location of my younger cousin's debut. Actually, I informed them that I would not travel to Pampanga because it was pretty far from our home and I had never been there. They sent me detailed instructions on where to go, which routes to take, and what to bring. I went back home to change as I was still wearing my uniform before deciding to go to Pampanga. I brought a number of outfits for the event and another set of clothes for the trip home.

An image was from Unsplash by Shawn Rain.

I carefully read my instructions since I could not stand to get lost along the route. My mother called to see how I was doing and to reaffirm the need for extreme caution. I was irritated, but because I had carefully read the instructions, I believed nothing terrible would happen to me. The engine was started by the bus driver. I placed my headphones in and reclined against the plush, cushioned pillows. I hugged my bag while swaying my head slightly to the left and right and listening to the music.

I had a mental breakdown, and I had no idea that I had forgotten to get off the bus at the port. I clutched my phone before I closed my eyes, and the first thing I did when I opened them was look for them. The earplugs were still in my ears even though I couldn't find my phone. My wallet was missing from the front bag as well. Immediately after getting off the bus, I saw the nicely lined-up buses. Where am I, damn?

When I looked about and couldn't find any indications of life, my hands began to tremble suddenly. When a thunderous thunderclap resounded in the broad, dark sky, my anxiety increased. I was moving through a dense forest of trees. I tried to open my eyes as wide as possible as there were just solar streetlights on both sides of the area that provided illumination. I made an effort to pay attention to noises, scents, and sights at the moment since I didn't want to perish in a situation like that. A little drop of water touched my skin as I was out in the middle of nowhere, signaling the impending arrival of severe rain.

An image was from Unsplash by Max Langelott.

I felt cold in a completely different way as a chill ran up and down my spine. My rubber shoes are becoming difficult to move in due to being damp on the inside. It was challenging to walk straight due to the accumulating water. As a result, the majority of the survival books I've read before began to emerge from the bottomless well of my imagination. I was happy with my predicament and didn't feel sorry for myself because I knew it had happened to teach me a lesson I had never learned before. One thing I realized about getting lost and being homeless in a strange city is to take the courage to embrace independence.

I’m young, inexperienced, and starting to build my life as I discover new things about this world. Being homeless at the weekend doesn’t mean you are alone and empty inside. Thus, some might say, "No one is loving you; that’s why you are homeless." No, the fact that you are homeless means you are independent and have the guts to challenge yourself to level up. Embracing your full potential, taking advantage of every opportunity, and honing your best skill set to improve your life and the lives of others. In the end, what matters most about being homeless at the weekend is your time acknowledging that you could do it, you could make it, and you could survive the situation you are in.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now