This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

MINDLESS SCROLLING

Sometimes, I feel like smacking myself for complaining that time runs so fast leaving me only able to get a few things done. When in truth, I am responsible for how productive my day turns(,by a large degree).


Image is mine*

Since I've been home for the school holiday break, I'm mostly on my phone. While eating, walking, talking, reading, on transit, in the mall, I'm on my phone. I always have one thing, sometimes even more, that I occupy myself with in using my device. And not all of it is very important
Thing is, sometimes I just scroll lazily and mindlessly and before I look up from my device, two hours have passed.

I enjoy to use my phone. Technology has made it to easy that I could get most of my activities aligned with my phone but it can be terrible too..

Terrible for the times when say, I should be reading my daily pages for a book, but I am scrolling in a social media feed pr chatting about something that isn't of significance.

I worry a lot about my declining vision yet I stay focused on looking at my phone's screen for hours on end. How then do I expect to manage and improve my vision? How do I do that when the first thing I pick up when I awake from sleep in the morning or the last thing I put away before bedtime is my phone?

There's the issue of missing out on carrying out important tasks. On Hive, for example, I'll set out to engage better but I find that after only a few engagement, my interest wanes and my attention is divided. By the end of the day, I'm sulking and pissed about how I was wasteful of time. It scares me to even check out just how much screen time I do daily. Much about my activities has been ruffled, including sleep time.


*Image is mine

Before the break, I had planned to formulate and begin living by a routine that I could easily maintain when school resumes. A routine that would affect neither school/study time, neither time for Hive and engagements nor time to take care of other my personal businesses. As it looks, I failed to do that. It makes me wonder what activities would characterize my day and I fear that I might be disorganized by then.

To help me, I think creating a schedule that balances screen and other activity time will be helpful. I dont think that outrightly believing that I can put away my phone and not care about it can work. Rather, I can start to set out my tasks daily, assigning a short break for my device after each task. That way, I don't feel denied of it nor miss it too much.
Over time, as I adapt to this new system, I would start to reduce the screen time-making sure to maximize what little time i set for it - little by little and draw focus to more important things.

I'm actually, intentionally starting that out today. I'd give a review this time next week, maybe. I hope it works. I sincerely do.
What do you think about it?
Any suggestions on what might help?
Do tell me.

Thanks for gracing this post.
Greetings!