This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Weekend-Engagement 171: Love is Measured by Your Capacity to Forgive

Have you ever loved someone so deeply that you forgot you’ve given them hundreds of chances in forgiveness? If yes, then you understand my idea that love is measured by your capacity to forgive.

Peter Ustinov once said "Love is an act of endless forgiveness, a tender look which becomes a habit." This quotation hits differently when I have read it from the Weekend-Engagement topics: WEEK 171. Deep down, I felt something that urged me to write my stand about this concept.

Template 7.jpg

The quote indeed hit a nerve. I could not stop myself from reflecting, trying to remember the moments when I was in a position where choosing forgiveness above all mattered more than the disrespect and pain I felt. The main reason I have in mind is, of course, love.

As a person who experienced it, I agree with Peter that love is indeed an act of endless forgiveness. I have been lied to by the only person I trusted so hard, and that was the worst betrayal I got for loving someone truly. Yet, in the end, I chose to forgive. The saddest reality is it did not stop there. The betrayal continued, and the disrespect was so obvious that I could no longer handle the pain and disappointment. Time after time, I was lied to and manipulated.

IMG_20220814_122623.jpg

My heart could not resist forgiving when apologies are presented at the table. But people are too insensitive and cold-hearted to take advantage of it repeatedly. Call me stupid because I have been manipulated hundreds of times by people I thought were genuine in asking forgiveness, yet they were not.

Later on, I realized that maybe this is the love language I want people around me to feel - that I could give endless forgiveness even if it means losing a part of myself. And it became a habit, not only in romantic relationships but also with family and friends.

IMG_20220814_122819.jpg

The bottom line is you cannot forgive someone repeatedly if you do not love them because loving someone means you can tolerate them through their lows and worst. Love and forgiveness work together between people with a relationship or a connection. That's what I have realized in my years of dealing with different people around me.

Forgiving someone is not wrong since people have imperfections and make mistakes, but look at how it will affect you. Sometimes, endless forgiveness can make someone feel you sincerely and genuinely love them, but be careful because it might drain you.

IMG_20220814_122852.jpg



I cannot express how thankful I am to those who have taken the time to read what I have written today. Your support means everything to me. Please acknowledge the sincere thanks I feel for each and every one of you. I hope to see you on my next blog and look forward to it. Sending peace and love! :)

@charmingcherry08.jpg

Author's Socials:
CHECK OUT SOME PREVIOUS BLOGS:
CommunityBlog Title
LADIES OF HIVELOH #151: United Women amidst Diversity Are Making a Change
WORKLIFEMy Freelance Writing Journey at Upwork Global Inc.
FOODIES BEE HIVEIced Caramel Macchiato from Twinniz Cafe
WEDNESDAY WALKWednesday Walk: Exploring SAMGY at The Garden in San Narciso, Zambales
WEDNESDAY WALKA STROLL IN THE CITY

charmingcherry.gif

Hive Blog No. 77
Date Published: September 16, 2023

All photos are captured & edited by CC. | Copyright © 2023, @charmingcherry. All Rights Reserved.