Combining nature and good food: Cathedrals Beach and Rinlo (WEEK:179)

Hi,

Those of you who know me through my posts will know that I have a weakness for the sea and good food. Therefore, you will see that I merge in the same post a walk through one of the most popular places in my environment, which is the beach of the Cathedrals, one 10 kilometers from my house and in turn I will show you one of the restaurants that I love to visit that is about 3 kilometers from the beach of the Cathedrals.

Cathedrals Beach

The beach of the Cathedrals is a beach shaped by the force of the sea and the wind that caused a striking erosion of the rocks, forming various massifs, arches and flying buttresses like those that can be found in the Spanish medieval cathedrals and hence its name.

To visit this beach does not serve as in other beaches, to park the car in its parking lot and to descend by its access road. It is necessary to plan the visit in advance and we must visit it with the low tide to be able to access all its caves and arches.

Today, October 11, being out of the summer season or vacations, Christmas and Easter, access to the beach is free. However, to visit this beach during the vacation season is almost impossible because you must make a reservation on the website of the government of Galicia to request access and there are limited places to protect the environment.

Once we descend to the beach we can take two paths. One is to turn left and walk along a corridor with a large rock pillars result of erosion by the sea and that the top of the arches that years ago there were in that place were falling by the effect of the waves.

On the other hand, if we follow our path to the right we can find during our walk along the beach different caves that are forming on the rock.

After walking about 100-200 meters along the sand, we reach a different area of the beach where we begin to see how the sea has sculpted on the rocks as an expert sculptor that is one of the largest rocks forming a very striking arch.

In fact this rock with this arch for lovers of photography, like me gives much play photographically speaking, because on a cloudy day like today taking advantage of the wet surface of the sand can capture some nice reflections and in turn with the arch we can make a frame taking advantage of other tourists or passers-by are placed to make their photos in front of the arch.

However, the most beautiful area is the one we find walking another 300-500 meters, where the sea has excavated a succession of arches similar to the arches that we can find in many cathedrals.

But you have to be very attentive to the sea, because as the beach is sandy and there is very little slope, a big wave can come at any time and as was my case the water came up to my knees soaking my shoes and pants.

Luckily, I had shoes and pants in the trunk of the car and I could go later to the nearby town of Rinlo to enjoy another of my passions which is good food.

The Brotherhood of Rinlo

Rinlo is a fishing village near the Cathedrals Beach.

Undoubtedly it is a place where there are very good restaurants to taste delicacies from the sea such as its popular barnacles or any other seafood.

In the restaurant The Brotherhood of Rinlo located in the port of Rinlo I love to enjoy with my friends one of the star dishes which is the rice with lobster.

The taste of this rice broth with lobsters from the Cantabrian Sea raised in the cetarias near the village is a delight for the palate.

At the same time, if you share these delicacies with friends and washed down with a good white wine from Galicia, nothing can go wrong.

Undoubtedly, because the price is not too expensive and the quality of the food and the good treatment that I always receive in this restaurant makes it one of my restaurants in the area where I live.

I encourage you to visit Galicia and specifically Cathedrals Beachs with the idea of enjoying a delicious rice with lobster in the restaurant The brotherhood of Rinlo.

Best regards.

Own photograph taken with my Sony Alpha 6000L.

This post is my entry to #weekend-engagement organized by @galenkp

Cover, separators and banner created with www.canva.com (free version).

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version).

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now