RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 44: See || Hear || Feel - Win HIVE

As a gamer that's is pretty easy for me. When I have a hard to imagine problem, I love to make associations with games, as the world we live in is hard to distinguish from complex simulated reality even for the scientific society.

Some of the most enjoyable games I have played put me in the skin of a character that communicates pretty well with other players or non-player characters. That character can experience and manipulate his world pretty well. He can see, he can hear ànd except for some experimental games, he is missing his sense of touch. Expiriencing the tactile (a word I know and have never used, before I saw it in @manoldochev 'reply) property of the material world is in fact not only pleasurable, but also life-saving ability. We can really miss important sensory signals until, as Moni said, it is too late. Luckily, games have resolved this problem with something as simple as health/life bar. I can easily imagine having sensors that transfer heat, humidity, sharpness or other properties via augmented reality device to my hearing and vision.

Having said that I instantly thought: Can we also transfer vision and hearing signals to our sense of touch. It is actually done. People with impaired hearing experience music and even dance by feeling amplified vibrations. I have also read a book where they described an amusing experiment. They used cameras and a device attached to a blind man's back. The device was making pressure with different intensity on a low resolution square map on his back skin, that represents the light and dark object's in front him. After months of training the man aquaired a sense similar of low resolution b/w vision which let him "see" walls, doors, stairs and big objects.

And if we take "touch" in a broader definition like being a ghost... That would change one's life and definition of life completely. Still, maybe we all have dreamed to walk through walls 😁. Here I really can't imagine how I would feel...

After all said I will definitely conclude I would sacrifice the sence of touch and rely on technology to survive.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency