Parting With Rediscovered Collections

IMG_9765 (2).JPG

About A Year Or So Ago ..

I started inventorying, accounting or better yet rediscovering collections (crap) I had accumulated over the years. I had gone to countless yard sales, thrift stores and flea markets, and returned home with lots of "Stuff". I guess you could say I was a crap collect guru of sorts.

I had had enough.. and started thinking, "what if we end up moving in the next several years? What would I do then.. with all of this stuff?" So the time had come to take an inventory of it all and make the vow to part with some of it. If I hadn't figured out what to do with it by now, would I ever? Probably not.

I Left It To My Weekends ..

In order to have the time needed to sort the real garbage from the profitable garbage. Every Saturday and Sunday morning I would take a bit of my free time to sit down and rediscover what it was I purchased sometimes very long ago. I realized, at some point, that everything I see does not need ME to collect it. I changed my ways and only purchased what I thought I could turn a profit from later. In some cases this has proven true and I did make a nice little profit off the stuff.

Just a few weeks ago.. I parted with a collection of toy cars/trucks/tractors .. AKA 'Matchbox Cars' .. Even though some of them were not Matchbox Car brand. I sorted through them, tossing out what was totally destroyed, brushing off the dirt and cobwebs, shaking out the occasional spider, and just admiring them before I placed them up for sale.

Here they are in the boxes as I found them, tucked away in my basement.

IMG_9764.JPG

Step Right Up.. We have planes, trains, and automobiles here folks! okay.. no trains, but there are tractors and even a riding mower in this mess.

IMG_9766.JPG

IMG_9765.JPG

I put the tractors and farm stuff together as a collection, but ended up selling all the items together as a lot. See the John Deere riding mower in the upper left?

IMG_9767.JPG

Some of the pieces were metal alloy, while others were mainly plastic. 90% of them I would say were of the metal variety. I saw a plethora of dated stuff in this mess, from the 50's to the 70's.

IMG_9769.JPG

The colors appeal to me too.. Deep reds, oranges, greenish blues, army greens, yellows, greys, whites.. yada yada

IMG_9772.JPG

I Really Liked, but did not keep, that Jeep like Rover in the front. It's a cool bluish color that reminds me of Caribbean water. I think @galenkp will like it as well. (I could picture you owning a real life version of this bad boy!) And look, it's all set up for safari across the outback.

IMG_9772 (2).JPG

These tiny little pickup trucks appealed to me for some reason too. Again, the answer is NO. I did not keep them. I was a good boy and parted with it ALL! I did like the matching trailer that came with the one truck.

IMG_9774 (3).JPG

Three things in this photo below caught my eye too. First that tiny green car. It was made of lead or something similar I believe. It was super soft and felt kind of like lead. Second was the bulldozer. I couldn't help but think of playing for countless hours as a kid, with tractors and bulldozers. Good memories! Last thing is that I wished that snow cat like vehicle was fully put together. Too bad it was missing it's tracks. It really would have been cool. Maybe the guy who bought them from me will fix it up nice.

IMG_9774 (2).JPG

A few more shots and I am done boring you with old toys...

IMG_9770.JPG

IMG_9771.JPG

IMG_9775.JPG

IMG_E9768.JPG

That's IT!

For this edition of ..

'Clean up the basement over the weekend to get rid of stuff and rediscover what kind of crap I bought so many years ago in order to sell it and either make a little money or not'

.. Is that too long of a title? Because I think it fits the scenario pretty well. hehe.

Hive text divider.png

IMG_3037 (2).JPG

“There are people like Senhor José everywhere, who fill their time, or what they believe to be their spare time, by collecting stamps, coins, medals, vases, postcards, matchboxes, books, clocks, sport shirts, autographs, stones, clay figurines, empty beverage cans, little angels, cacti, opera programmes, lighters, pens, owls, music boxes, bottles, bonsai trees, paintings, mugs, pipes, glass obelisks, ceramic ducks, old toys, carnival masks, and they probably do so out of something that we might call metaphysical angst, perhaps because they cannot bear the idea of chaos being the one ruler of the universe, which is why, using their limited powers and with no divine help, they attempt to impose some order on the world, and for a short while they manage it, but only as long as they are there to defend their collection, because when the day comes when it must be dispersed, and that day always comes, either with their death or when the collector grows weary, everything goes back to its beginnings, everything returns to chaos.”
― José Saramago, All the Names

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

NFT Showroom Member

Are you interested in creating an NFT for your art AND using a HIVE based project???

Here Is A Link, in case your interested in listing something yourself!.. NFT Showroom

Are You Ready To Tokenize Your Art???

Come Check Us Out To Find Out How and To Get Started Selling YOUR Art as NFT’s!
NFT Showroom Thumbnail.PNG

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency