Contest Writing - A Guide for Newcomers

Contest Picture.jpg


Contest writing across Hive has different requirements according to the community that you find the contest in. These will almost always be highlighted and clearly outlined in the announcement post.

If you are new, it can sometimes be challenging to remember all the rules so I chose to put together this post to help out members of The Weekend Community with some insight on how I prepare contest entries (and even my general posts). Image Source


Contests are fantastic. They spark our creativity and should get us excited to write about a topic that we find interesting. Contest writing should bring out your writing passion as it is an excellent way to showcase your skills, imagination and to promote your account. If you write from the heart, put in some thought and effort - people will find you. The possibility of your entry being chosen as a winning entry should be thought of as an added bonus, not necessarily the main reason for entering.

Steps I take when I choose to enter a contest:

  • Read the contest announcement post from start to finish

  • Think - Does this catch my interest? Is my imagination running wild with ideas? Have I got a personal story to relate to this topic?

  • Make mental notes of requirements

  • Jot down ideas for my post or start writing immediately in draft form

  • Choose images (my own if possible) that fit the topic, if I don't have any of my own that will work, I source them from: Pexels ; Pixabay or Unsplash

  • Copy the source link of each image and include it in my post

  • Check my formatting - center images, justify text etc.,

  • Proof read my post - correct the spelling and grammatical errors. Is it easy to read? Does it flow nicely? Is it clear and understandable?

  • Open the post announcement and double check the requirements. Ensure the tags are correct. Does it meet the word count? Are all images source linked?

  • Post the entry and complete any other required steps (like posting the link in the comments if it's required by that contest - it almost never is in The Weekend contests).

Some additional tips:

Remember that contests are opportunities to develop relationships with like-minded people on Hive by engaging. Replying to comments in a non generic way, putting thought and effort into your responses will give people a better idea of your personality.

If you have a sense of humour don't be afraid to show it (when it's appropriate)
Be courteous and polite in your interactions
Be appreciative when you win a contest or when your post gets promoted through curation by leaving a "Thank You" in the comments.

Don't forget to ENJOY THE WRITING PROCESS.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency