I want something like this... for a fraction of the price. Part 3. Porsche Taycan

I was speaking to a good friend of mine, about my previous 2 posts, He said to me, what would you do if you wanted a New Porsche Taycan. I had to think hard.

image.png
Link to the Photo
Photograph was taken by: L.C. Nøttaasen

The Taycan is Porsches, Sexy, new, fully electric car, which came in both saloon and estate versions. They start at about £70,690 for a basic version, which in my opinion, is pretty decent, but saying that I would never buy a new car.
£70,690 is 175,410 HIVE (10th May 2021)
1 GBP = 2.48 HIVE
1 HIVE = 0.402998 GBP

Since a new Base version of the Taycan is just over £70K, I wonder how much a used one is...

Looking at the Uk Autotrader website, I see that the cheapest one is... £80,000. I guess this is because Porsche didn't realise how popular the new Taycan would be. I suppose if you had the money, you could make a profit, but remember the car market is changing every few mins.

Anyway, I can't afford to buy a new Porsche Taycan, and there are not any other full-electric Porsches before this car was introduced, but I would want a Porsche for my family, which is not an estate, what does that leave me with?

Hmmm...

... a Panamera.

I am a fan of the Panamera! It is currently on its second generation, which starts at just under £70K. For £69,860 (173,351 HIVE) you get the base model, which has the 2.9 V6, but as an alternative to electric, we have to compromise and get a Hybrid. To be honest, I prefer Hybrids over electric cars at the moment.
A base spec Hybrid Panamera is called the 4E-Hybrid and starts at £ 83,720.00 incl. VAT, and it outperforms the base Taycan in many areas.

How much is the cheapest Panamera??
The cheapest Panamera for sale, is a first Generation (970), finished in white, has a nice spec, but it's a 2011 3.0 Diesel with 97,000 miles on the clock.
image.png (not the actual car in the picture)

But, we are currently interested in the hybrid model.

They start at £26,900!! I was very surprised. £26.9K buys you a 2012 Panamera 3.0 V6 S Hybrid Tiptronic with about 41,000 miles on the clock! If you ever buy a car like this, I strongly recommend getting it checked over by a pro, check to see if there is any finance on it, and basically check to see if everything adds up. If everything adds up nicely, then you have found a good alternative to a new Taycan (in my opinion).
image.png (once again, not the actual car for sale in the photo)

If you do find this Hybrid a bit dated, you can buy a Gen 2 hybrid, from around £50,000 but it has high miles 53K for a 2017 car.
image.png

Would you say the Hybrid is a decent enough alternative to the Taycan. Please let me know down below :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency