It's not dirty

A couple weeks ago I went away for a camping trip which I think I really needed - It's been a while since I went anywhere and that time away, switching off and getting back to basics, seemed more of a requirement than a luxury. It wasn't a long trip but I managed to relax a little at times and spent most of it gazing out at a panoramic view, sunrise or hiking. Of course, to get to those views I needed to hit some trails, do some off-road driving in my four wheel drive, and whilst that brings enjoyment it also brings some hard work later. Cleaning.

I guess that's the payoff for fun and four-wheel-drive adventure, cleaning, and whilst I could leave it I'm not that way inclined - I look after the things I have because I know what it's like to have nothing and so...Cleaning my four wheel drive happens.

20210503_125321~2.jpg

Yesterday was the day, what better way to spend a Saturday afternoon? It was a heavily overcast and slightly rainy day - A perfect day to generate an excuse not to do the work...But I got to it and three hours later had a sparkling clean Landcruiser...Inside and out. I know, three hours! I'm meticulous though, hence the time it takes, and I'll be honest, I get some satisfaction from seeing the vehicle sparking clean. Besides, I wash my vehicle's under cover so there no real excuse, try as I might to find one.

Cleaning my Landcruiser is a fairly big job. It's big and is a very high vehicle and so a step ladder is required to reach the roof and windshield; My OCD nature won't allow me to simply leave it, out of sight out of mind. Nope, I am thorough. It's made a little more difficult now as I've got a suspension lift on it also adding a few inches of height. So there's a lot of step ladder moving and climbing which sucks...But it has to be done.

20210505_152549~2.jpg

My Landcruiser and off-road camper trailer on the way out to my camping trip a few weeks ago...Looking clean, but it didn't stay that way. Nothing a good three hour wash can't fix though.

I just plod away at it though and little by little it gets done, my satisfaction increasing as it gets clean and the job draws to an end. That's when the back pain starts but I have pills for that.

I'm a bit pedantic when it comes to car washing so can be found opening doors and cleaning inside the door-jambs and sill-panels and the various drips that seem to come out of nowhere...Nope, I don't like them messing up my hard work so prior to drying the vehicle I use my compressor to blow the water out of all the crevices...Dry means dry, not sort of dry with drips all over the place!

Today I got done then realised I had to go to the supermarket which was a bit stupid...Overcast day and some rain you know...Clean car. Not a good match. See the issue? I manned-up though and hit the market wishing all the while my pristine vehicle would remain so...A few spots got it...But I wiped them up as soon as I got home so it was all good. Crisis averted.

20210503_134828~2.jpg

One of the views I gazed at on my camping trip - It was worth having to wash my Landcruiser for.

I know it probably sounds quite pathetic but I really get a good feeling from having a clean vehicle; I see it as a reflection of myself in that I like to present as the best version of myself and a clean vehicle helps me to do so. A small thing, but one that has stayed with me throughout life. It's a little like saying please and thank you and showing courtesy, humility and kindness - It makes me feel like a better version of me.

How about you; Do you have a car-cleaning malfunction like me? Do you have to have a clean car or can you leave it and not care? Do you clean inside and out consecutively or alternate it? Do you use dishwashing liquid or the purpose-made carwash stuff...Please tell me you don't use dishwashing liquid! Tell me below about your car washing regime, or your complete disregard for a clean car...I just hope my OCD can handle the latter. 😊


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
48 Comments
Ecency