A Newbies Experience of joining The Hive

C3E05375-8B85-42DC-B337-9A64591281E5.jpeg

Hello fellow Hiveans! I feel like I can now call you all that because Hive has become a part of my daily life and routines. This is not an introduce yourself post - you can jump back in my posts and find that. This is a post sharing what the experience of joining this new world of Hive has been like for a completely green, never blogged before, never been exposed to crypto before person.

I joined mid January (about 6 weeks ago) just as my son was going back to homeschool and the holidays were coming to an end. My “usual” job is running my own airbnb over the Summer, but long term tenants plopped in our laps and we couldn’t refuse. So now I have a passive income and not too much to do all day. Not a bad life.

Late last year my son’s online school teacher @giantbear had looked at my FB and Insta posts and mentioned blogging on hive. Clueless as I am I was still a little busy with “work” and fobbed it off for a couple months. But when January rolled by she mentioned it again and I had no more excuses. Time is now my currency and I can do with it what I like.

First of all the signup process was not as easy as I thought it would be. Those confusing keys!!!! And I wasn’t smart enough to copy and paste them. I thought I was being clever by taking screenshots - cost me loads of time later on when I had to retype each one slowly, making sure I hadn’t made a mistake. Gosh! Talk about stress. Ok now I’m in. Now what?

I filled out my profile got a quick pick of the beach thrown in for good measure. By the way this was all on hive.blog via my phone - to this day I haven’t used a laptop to access anything. I think it would cramp my style. Using the browser version at first I didn’t know where to even find people until I accidentally pushed on the Hive icon and waaa-laaaaa, Opened up to a whole new world.

Finding the communities was pretty cool and I started joining a couple and seeing how they showed up on my feed.

Then @giantbear mentioned that my first post could be an introduceyourself post and I got cracking on it. I’m a bit of a free flow writer and hate planning. I get on an idea and run with it. As you would have noticed, if you’ve followed any of my stuff, I lean hard on the Lifestyle and Creative end of the spectrum. While this Finance stuff is still a mystery in my world.

As my blogging has evolved over this short time I’ve investigated posting in various communities - some of my posts seems to have a better reception in certain groups than others. And sometimes I just post because I just love it and want it on my feed for me.

A part of my journey has been challenging myself to blog daily in order to remain creative and exercising these skills in order to hone them and get better at what I can do. Anyone who’s done the Clifton strengths test will know that a Maximiser just wants to lift levels ALL THE TIME! And my enneagram is a 1, so yeah improving and working to make things better is my special power.

I quickly downloaded the Ecency app and like the push notifications. But I prefer posting on hive.blog directly. Also still working out how to easily load my own video content. Ecency allows it but there’s no sound. (If you could hear my chihuahuas SING you’d understand why I want sound). My question is: as long as I’m posting my own content, why can’t I upload it the same way I would on FB or Instagram? Why can’t it be easier to do?

I think this craving for improvement has helped me to glean as much as I could from my fellow bloggers with some pointers from @slobberchops @theycallmedan @dandays and giantbear along the way. And this has meant a reasonable income for my work - not bad for a newbie right now.

Figuring out the Crypto actual trading / moving things around bit is still a mystery and I’d welcome any advice. I did my first Power Up this week and can see how my little 100% vote is growing but I feel like it might be time to delegate and help a friend out to see if I can make some other passive return. #wheretofromhere?
@revisesociology has had some very useful tips and I’m keen to see how things pan out.

For now, I’m going to stick to my personal challenge of daily blogging. I’m keen to see if I can blog for an entire year straight and how that will effect my little nest egg that is growing here. I’m sharing about Hive.blog with all my friends and inviting them all the time. Hopefully we will see them come onboard soon.

It’s all a bit overwhelming that first little while, but now I’m feeling confident that I made the right decision and am loving this new world I’m a part of.

Thanks to all my new friends for your support, it means the world to me. And I’m thankful that I get to do this alongside some incredible people.

#lessphotosmoretext
all photos my own
6F37B7AF-15EC-4171-B454-85A9D156690E.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency