My Hive Story... Never gets old

I love stories. It's probably why @tarazkp is one of my favourite writers here on Hive. I learnt the beauty of storytelling through his long and insightful posts.

I saw this post by @acesontop and thought it would be cool to answer the 10 questions about my journey on the blockchain. I also have to thank @snook and @whatsup for starting this trend.

Let's begin...
hive story.jpg

1. How long have you been on the blockchain?

I didn't pay a lot of attention, but the 11th of this month happened to be my 4th year on Hive. Happy belated birthday to me!

6C2W1aZ5vrv9hJHSRrY3eZkwLuED84SgrsZSzUgxKXMsiPwLb11oQqU.png

I mentally only realized I was on a blockchain a year ago though.

2. What was your background in cryptocurrency when you first came to the Blockchain?

What's a cryptocurrency?
I was at a point where I didn't believe in anything I couldn't immediately understand in 2 sentences. So, I had no background. I was closed-minded and I didn't even know it.

3. What was your background in writing when you first came to the Blockchain?

I loved writing poems and ad content for the product I was marketing at the time. I did a lot of research and gathered knowledge about products and marketed them. At some point, I got called on by people to create ad content for their products. I read a lot then so words came easy for me. I miss my eloquence.

4. How many people did you know when you first came to the Blockchain?

I think then it was just @bhoa, @ebingo and @belemo. They were all the crowd I needed at that point.

Ebingo proposed Steemit to me. Forced me to sign up and then Belemo signed up a few days after I did so I'm a few days older than he is. Bhoa was here for a bit longer than all of us.

However, in terms of relationships formed here, I don't think I've made any tight pals, but I enjoy the few conversations I have with @peaq @deraa and the responses I get from @taskmaster4450.

I've never been good at making new friends so I just keep my conversations brief.

5. How did you meet people when you first came to the Blockchain?

Like I wrote above, I suck at making friends. I never know what to say and what not to say so I avoid long conversations.

At first, I thought everyone was a bot on Steemit. I didn't understand how to properly navigate it or why every post I saw had to be over 500 words and when I stumbled on posts about blockchain and cryptocurrency, I would immediately develop a headache.

I wasn't ready to learn. I'm almost never ready to learn. I'm a lazy bum.

6. Who did you look up to when you first came to the Blockchain?

When I got serious here, I looked up to my brother, @belemo. I still look up to him. He's behind a lot of smart moves I make and a lot of things I do here.

7. How would you describe your first three months on the Blockchain?

Non-existent. I'm pretty sure I lost my keys a day after I created my account. I can't even remember when I sent them to my brothers but I know I got them from him when I needed to come back.

8. Has being a part of the Blockchain changed you in any way for the good?

Abso-fucking-lutely. Most of what I know lately is gotten from the shit I've read here. My love for crypto and the goals I've set for myself are all connected to what I've gained here.

9. What is your favourite memory from your time on the Blockchain?

It has to be the day @taskmaster4450 gave me a 100% upvote and encouraged me to get more Nigerians on Hive. I was chilling with my friends when I made that post, when it got a lot of traction, my brother @belemo called me to tell me that I was trending. I was so happy.

That also pushed me to take my work on the @hive-naija community a bit more seriously.

10. If you could advise a new person signing up to Hive, what would it be?

Have fun and keep an open mind. If I had gotten off my high mental horse when I first signed up and just stuck around to have some fun and get to know people, I probably would have been way ahead than I am now.

Hive is beautiful. There's hardly any hate here and most times criticism comes constructively. No one talks trash and gets away with it. It's what social media should be.

What's your story?

THANKS FOR READING!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency