My DCity Experience - Buying Tech cards on the DCity Market instead of Mining Them - A Major Eye-Opener

My City.png

The learning curve is steep on DCity, as is the case on Hive and on the blockchain / in the world of cryptocurrency in general.

A few days back, after having played DCity for over a month, I received a DM on Discord from a fellow city player/ major of anther city @artistparthoroy

He asked me why I didn't have GMO farming or the Eco Energy tech card and told me that would boost my income.

It took me a while and then the invisible light bulb above my head switched on:

I could actually buy tech cards on the market.

I recently discovered that just unlocking them ( something I had been doing frantically lately, to grow my city at a faster pace ) didn't mean I had them. It only gave me the chance to mine them.

Where to buy tech cards:

Buy Tech.png

Even though @justinparke had given me loads of advice, in his highly entertaning Pimp your City post with XZibit post and afterward, via Discord, I am still making Noob mistakes, apparently.

I would have thought that 39 year olds don't make childish mistakes any longer but then again, children are kind of cool and we should't underestimate them.

I might prevent you from making the same mistake doing the same though and that's why I decided to write this post. To tell you that you can buy tech cards on the market.

It's crazy that, one way or another, I missed the "tech" button on there or just ignored it all the time, eventhough I bought loads of cards in the last couple of weeks.

My Tech Card holdings:

My Tech Cards.png

I also received a message from my dear friend @riverflows who got into the game days ago. She's the creator of a Hive community called Natural Medicine and recently started playing DCity, as well as trying to find a way to get the LOTUS token on there as well as a card ( or two ) connected to her community. That would be pretty cool, as I have been active in that community for over a year.

I know river is having a hard time trying to get her head wrapped around this game, so via this route I hope to encourage her to keep going. She knows she can always DM me :<)

I love how helpful this community is and am doing my best to give back / do the same. Let's be honest, being of service to others ( without forgetting yourself ) is what life is all about.

I also remember how, after having played this game for a couple of weeks, I suddenly noticed my brother from another mother - @whatamidoing - way up in the rankings with a huge city.

At that time, I didn't even know that he played the game. After reaching out to him, I learnt that he decided to buy in big the day before ( after reading about my 'success' in @justinparke 's XZibit Pimp Your City
post ). He had grown this big in one single day. Impressive!

I guess it helps to be an Orca on Hive ( especially if you have a bunch of Liquid Hive to play around with ).

So, shortly after, this dolphin, reached out to his orca buddy and asked for a Hive loan to play catch up. Days later, I climbed the rank, after investing 2k Hive and many hours in buying cards and trying to balance out my city with buildings and people.

I am still behind him in the ranking ( 169 vs 140 ) but I'm slowly gaining and pretty satisfied with my current position.

This was supposed to be a post about buying tech cards, so I'll end it here. If you liked what you read here, make sure to let me know and I might just make this into some kind of series. I am considering to write my follow up on how to buy cards / work your magic via discord, in the #cityhelper channel.

P.S. Some tech cards are insanely expensive on the market. So make sure you check what a card is worth before you buy it or buy those you can afford to buy and increase your chances to mine tech cards as much as you can.

P.P.S. @trumpman is doing a give away of tech cards and some SIM. If you're short on cash or just love free stuff, make sure not to miss it: DCity Tech Give Away

5% of my earnings for this post will go to @artistparthoroy for the tech advice, 5 % to @justinparke for all his help so far, 5 % to @whatamidoing for lending me some much needed liquid Hive and last but not least 5% to @riverflows to grow her LEO stake. I also recommend you read her beautiful and funny post about her financials goals for this year

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency